will be temporarily unavailable Sunday, November 2, from 5-7pm CST. We appreciate your patience as we improve your user experience.

Gordon Award of Distinction Winners

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.


Dr. Barbara Polk
Leeward Community College

Donald C. Burns
Montcalm Community College

Dr. Gary Branch
Faulkner State Community College

Dr. Henry Shannon
St. Louis Community College at Forest Park

Dr. James C. Henderson
San Juan College
New Mexico

Dr. John J. Cavan
Southside Virginia Community College

Nancy DeSombre
Harold Washington College

Dr. Sanford C. Shugart
North Harris College