We will be conducting routine maintenance on Phi Theta Kappa websites from 2:00pm to 6:00pm CDT, Saturday, April 25. During this time you may experience login and access issues. We appreciate your patience.

Gordon Award of Distinction Winners

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.


Dr. Donald J. Donato
Feather River College

Dr. Dorothy L. Lord
Coastal Georgia Community College

Dr. Eric B. McKeithan
Cape Fear Community College
North Carolina

Dr. Fred Gainous
Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education

Dr. Henry Kirk
Centralia College

James L. Steck
Ivy Tech State College

Dr. Lawrence W. Tyree
Santa Fe Community College

Dr. Peter F. Burnham
Brookdale Community College
New Jersey

Dr. Stephen K. Mittelstet
Richland College