will be temporarily unavailable Sunday, November 2, from 5-7pm CST. We appreciate your patience as we improve your user experience.

Gordon Award of Distinction Winners

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.


Dr. Keith Miller
Black Hawk College

Dr. Mary Retterer
Pima Community College

Dr. Phil Sutphin
East Central Community College

Dr. R. Thomas Flynn
Monroe Community College
New York

Dr. Rodger Pool
Eastfield College

Dr. Tony Newberry
Maysville Community College