Mosal Award Winners

The Mosal Award was established in 1984 to recognize and encourage scholarship among Phi Theta Kappa advisors and to encourage advisors to incorporate the Society's hallmarks into professional development. The award appropriately bears the name of long-time Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director Dr. Margaret Mosal. It was presented first in 1985 as a one-time award honoring Dr. Mosal's retirement. The award was reinstated in 1991 and has been presented annually since. Browse the history of the Mosal Awards by reviewing the recipients of the awards over the years. Where available, links have been provided to each award recipient's proposal.


  • Professor Todd M. Bryda, Academic Coordinator for the Humanities, Northwestern Connecticut Community College in Connecticut
    Project title: "Power and Piety in Ireland, Wales, and England: The use of military and religious structures to intimidate, pacify, and assimilate native populations"
    View proposal
  • Dr. Arshi Rizwani-Nisley, English Instructor, Laramie County Community College in Wyoming
    Project title: Literacy in Bhaun, Pakistan: Teaching Interviewing Skills in a Village School for Girls
    View proposal


  • Dr. Sarah K. Nichols, Hinds Community College, Vicksburg, MS; View Proposal
  • Dr. Patricia Scott West, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Jefferson Davis Campus, MS; View Proposal


  • Dr. Jane Abbott, Santa Fe Community College, Santa Fe, NM; View Proposal
  • Dr. Cami Bishop, Portland Community College, Porland, OR; View Proposal


  • Dr. Peggy LePage, North Hennepin Community College, Brooklyn Park, MN; View Proposal


  • Lori Garrett, Parkland College, Champaign, IL; View Proposal
  • Dr. Kenneth Kerr, Frederick Community College, Frederick, MD; View Proposal


  • Jo Fritts, Ozarks Technical Community College, Springfield, MO; View Proposal
  • Dr. William Loftus, Big Sandy Community & Technical College, Prestonburg, KY; View Proposal


  • Dan Bailey, Ashland Community and Technical College, Ashland, KY; View Proposal
  • Gigi Delk, Tyler Junior College, Tyler, TX; View Proposal


  • Sharon A. Fox, St. Louis Community College at Florissant Valley, Ferguson, MO
  • Sharon Gusky, Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Winsted, CT; View Proposal
  • Dr. Peter J. Pellegrin, Cloud County Community College, Junction City, KS; View Proposal
  • Judy Ryan, Fresno City College, Fresno, CA
  • Dr. Donna J. Singleton, Reading Area Community College, Reading, PA
  • Jeffery Scott Wooters, Pensacola Junior College, Pensacola, FL


  • Jeff Edwards, Cy-Fair College, Cypress, TX and Holmes Community College, Goodman, MS; View Proposal
  • Dr. Brent L. Kendrick, Lord Fairfax Community College, Middletown, VA; View Proposal


  • Eric Chong, Guam Community College, Guam; View Proposal
  • Lana Evans, Northwest State Community College, Archbold, OH; View Proposal
  • Dr. Richard Trombley, Oakland Community College, Farmington Hills, MI; View Proposal



  • Dr. Christine Case, Skyline College, San Bruno, CA


  • Dr. Roger Ekins, Butte College, Oroville, CA
  • Dr. Scott McLean, Arizona Western College, Yuma, AZ


  • Dr. David Arter, Clackamas Community College, OR
  • Norma Hammill, Pearl River Community College, MS
  • Dr. James Heard, Harold Washington College, IL
  • Susan Hult Edwards, Houston Community College, TX


  • Cindy Carbone, Washington State Community College, OH
  • Peggy Lambert, Kingwood College, TX
  • Lillie Munford, Southside Virginia Community College, VA
  • Martha Vines, Richland College, TX


  • Dr. Robert Clark, Trident Technical College, SC
  • Lynda Dodgen, North Harris College, Houston, TX
  • Leanne Jardine, Herkimer County Community College, Herkimer, NY
  • Nancy Long, Trinity Valley Community College, Athens, TX
  • Dr. Tommy Thompson, Cedar Valley College, Lancaster, TX
  • Alex Prayson, Tulsa Community College–Northeast, Tulsa, OK
  • Ann Burkes, East Central Community College, Decater, MS


  • Henry Moreland, Florida Community College, Jacksonville, FL
  • Patrick Sullivan, Manchester Community Technical College, Manchester, CT
  • Charlotte Toguchi, Kapiolani Community College, Honolulu, HI
  • Dr. Susan Faulkner, Cedar Valley College, Lancaster, TX


  • Joan Keller, Trident Technical College, Charleston, SC
  • Dr. Bradley Reynolds, College of the Canyons, Santa Clarita, CA
  • Dr. Marlene Smith, Bacone College, Muskogee, OK


  • Gigi Beaton, Tyler Junior College, Tyler, TX
  • Dr. Shelby Harris, East Central Community College Decatur, MS
  • Edward Homewood, Harold Washington College, Chicago, IL
  • Helen Smith, South Mountain Community College, Phoenix, AZ
  • Sally Bright, Tulsa Community College, Tulsa, OK


  • Janice Shera, Western Oklahoma State College, Altus, OK
  • Robert Saldarini, Bergen Community College, Paramus, NJ
  • Judy Turman, Tyler, Junior College, Tyler, TX
  • Marvin Langsam, Miami-Dade Community College – North, Miami, FL
  • Kay Miller, Tulsa Community College, Tulsa, OK


  • Dr. Max Hallman, Merced College, Merced, CA
  • Dr. Don Foran, Centralia College, Centralia, WA


  • Dr. Jimmy Miller, San Juan College, Farmington, NM
  • Dr. Barbra Nightingale, Broward Community College-South, Pembroke Pines, FL
  • Hassan Saffari, Prestonburg Community College, Prestonburg, KY
  • Brady Surles, Southwest Virginia Community College, Richlands, VA


  • Dr. Anne Levig, Anoka-Ramsey, Cambridge Community College, Breezy Point, MN
  • Dr. Janice Roberts, Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham, AL


  • Dr. Karen Stone, Southern Union State Community College, Wadley, AL
  • Dr. Martha Wilson, Macon College, Macon, GA
  • Barbara Mantini, N. Hennepin Community College, Brooklyn Park, Minneapolis, MN


  • Lee Adams, East Central College, Union, MO
  • Bob Eichling, Connors State College, Warner, OK
  • Sister Mary Marcelline, Lourdes College, Sylvania, OH
  • Mary Navarro, Sinclair Community College, Dayton, OH
  • Sarah Ann Staples, Andrew College, Cuthbert, GA


  • Robert Giles, Blinn College, Brenham, TX
  • Dr. Jo Marshall, Chattahoochee Valley Community College, Phenix City, AL
  • Joe Meyer, St. Louis Community College, St. Louis, MO
  • Dr. Allen Speer, Lees-McRae College, Banner Elk, NC
  • Cliff Wood, Grayson County College, Denison, TX