Ten College Presidents to Receive Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards

Share this on Facebook

Jackson, MS –Ten retiring college presidents/campus CEOs will be honored with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award during NerdNation 2014, Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 24-26.

Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to college presidents/campus CEOs at two-year or senior institutions and to state community college system directors who are retiring and provided consistently outstanding support to Phi Theta Kappa chapters and advisors during their careers. They are named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida. 

Nominees must have served in their position for at least five years as of December 4, 2013. Among the 2014 recipients, the average length of service is more than 12 years.

The 2014 Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are:

Dr. Edward Berger, President, Hutchinson Community College, Kansas

Dr. Pete Campos, President, Luna Community College, New Mexico

Dr. Richard Carpenter, Chancellor, Lone Star College, Texas

Dr. Marie Foster Gnage, President, West Virginia University at Parkersburg, West Virginia

Dr. Carl Hite, President, Cleveland State Community College, Tennessee

Dr. Wright Lassiter, Chancellor, El Centro College, Texas

Dr. Michael McCall, President/CEO, Kentucky Community and Technical College System, Kentucky

Dr. Eric Reno, President, Northeast Lakeview College, Texas

Dr. James Walton, President, Centralia College, Washington

Dr. Marshall "Sonny" White, President, Midlands Technical College, South Carolina

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.