Apply Now for Oberndorf Lifeline to Completion Scholarship

In 2012, Jason Glynn was earning a decent living working as a welder. But the work was too physically challenging thanks to injuries he’d sustained in a car accident a few years prior. Plus, he kept topping out as a team leader due to his lack of a college degree.

The economic recession had left instability in his field. He knew he needed to make a move, so he enrolled at Southern Maine Community College (SMCC).

“Because of my dismal high school track record, I had few other options,” he said. “I never expected to be offered membership in an honor society. That began a huge transformation.”

Quitting his job to return to school was a “huge leap of faith” for Glynn. He excelled and was inducted into the Alpha Chi Nu Chapter, serving as its president. But money was tight — he earned $9 an hour as a campus tutor and received Pell grants, but real-world expenses kept him in dire straits.

Glynn led efforts to open a food pantry on his campus. He also applied for and received several scholarships, including the 2015 Oberndorf Lifeline to Completion Scholarship.

“Everybody likes to be recognized, and I truly believe success begets success,” he said. “Scholarships let you know that you’re being noticed for working hard, and they keep pushing you further.”

The Oberndorf Lifeline to Completion Scholarship gives financial aid to students who have been faced with an unanticipated financial barrier that could keep them from completing their degree or certificate. Up to 15 scholarships of $1,000 each are awarded annually.

“At a community college, we know it doesn’t take much to throw students off the track to completion,” said Lou Oberndorf, who with his wife Rosemary established the scholarship. “Completion is critical to me. Completion is the signal to the world that you’ve achieved something, and it will stay with you the rest of your life.”

Applications for the Oberndorf Lifeline to Completion Scholarship are being accepted now through May 2. Apply today.

Phi Theta Kappa’s Spring Scholarship Application is also now open and gives members the opportunity to apply for more than $250,000. The application closes May 2.

Read more about Jason Glynn’s story in the 2016 issue of Visionary.

Meet the New AAC Members — and Elect One More

Three alumni have been appointed to serve on the Alumni Advisory Council (AAC), and alumni will elect one more at NerdNation 2016.

Kenneth Ruemke, Feifei Zeng and Lindsay Moore have been appointed to serve two-year terms on the AAC. They join Kevin Braden, Sara Oswald and Jeffrey Romeu on the council and will act as liaisons between alumni, alumni associations and Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters.

“It is truly an honor to have this opportunity to continue to work with alumni and Headquarters staff as part of the council,” Ruemke said. “I continue to stay involved with Phi Theta Kappa as an alumnus because of the experiences and growth that I received as a member. I want to make sure that the generations of students that are joining now and in the future have these same experiences if not more.”

Ruemke, an alumnus of the Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter at Lone Star College-North Harris in Texas, was first elected to the AAC in 2009. He served a one-year term and was then reappointed to the council in 2012. In 2013, he was named AAC co-chair, and his term was set to expire in 2016.

Ruemke was also honored at NerdNation 2015 as the recipient of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award.

Zeng was a member of the Alpha Delta Lambda Chapter at Carl Albert State College in Oklahoma, where she served as chapter president. She is now attending Mississippi State University.

“I am really excited to bring my experience as a first-generation, transfer and international student to the Phi Theta Kappa community,” she said. “Phi Theta Kappa empowered me to reach out for opportunities and gave me the opportunity to serve and to lead.”

Moore was a member of the Beta Zeta Nu Chapter at Cañada College in California. She was the International Vice President for Division IV in 2005-2006. After earning degrees from Cambridge University, Harvard and Williams College, she now works as a Performance System Analyst in the Colorado governor’s office.

“Phi Theta Kappa was an integral part of my community college experience, so continuing to be involved as an alumni is just one way I can give back to the Society,” she said. “I believe a strong alumni network can provide support and institutional knowledge to current students, can champion Phi Theta Kappa’s and the Foundation’s mission and programs, and can provide academic and professional development for thousands of alumni long after we’ve left community college.”

AAC co-chair Barbara Wolf Ebert will rotate off the council this year. Because the AAC is a seven-member council, an election will be held during NerdNation 2016 to fill her seat. Listed below are the six candidates with their chapter and college names:

  • Carlos Acevedo, Mu Epsilon, Miami Dade College, Florida
  • Ebonee Carpenter, Alpha Lambda Alpha, Hillsborough Community College, Florida
  • Heather Clippinger, Alpha Nu Lambda, Clark State Community College, Ohio
  • Julie Gore, Beta Theta Xi, Des Moines Area Community College, Iowa
  • Courtney Rice, Alpha Delta Mu, Atlantic Cape Community College, New Jersey
  • Jessica Supinski, Alpha Lambda Nu, Community College of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania

Alumni — learn more about the exciting opportunities available to you during NerdNation 2016, including the annual Alumni Business Meeting, the Alumni Social and Educational Forums exclusively for you! Register today!