Phi Theta Kappa Announces 2016 Regional Award Winners

Jackson, MS - Phi Theta Kappa regional award winners will be honored during NerdNation 2016, the annual convention in National Harbor, Maryland, April 7-9. Awards will be presented and recipients will receive recognition during the Parade of Flags Ceremony in the Opening General Session. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of a total of 30 regions. Regional Coordinators serve as the leader of the region and as the liaison between Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters and the chapters in their region.

Phi Theta Kappa’s 2016 regional award winners are:

Distinguished Regional Officers
Distinguished Regional Officers are recognized for outstanding leadership, implementing regional goals that support overall Society goals, for significant contributions to regional Honors in Action programs and effectively communicating the region’s program and projects to member chapters. Winners will receive commemorative medallions.

Noémie Broussoux-Coutard, Middle States Region
Jacquline Desiree Bumbalough, Tennessee Region
Marissa Cowles, Rocky Mountain-Cascade Region
Ashley Eddy, Middle States Region
Iris Frost, Carolinas Region
Victoria Hewlett, Tennessee Region
Brenda Jarvis, Ohio Region
Justin Jones, Georgia Region
Moriah Mercer, Indiana Region
Brandy Stabley, Middle States Region
Catherine Terry, Missouri Region
Diedra Torgeson, Wisconsin Region

Distinguished Regional Officer Team Awards

Distinguished Regional Officer Teams are honored for their ability to work cohesively to identify and implement the region’s goals, to act as leaders for chapters and members within the region, and to support the mission of Phi Theta Kappa. Winners will receive commemorative medallions.

Michigan Region - Krystalyn Mahl, Anne McLeod, Elizabeth Powell, Katrina Soper, Shane Stephens, Mitchell Tortelli, Justin Wood and Hayley Pierce
Middle States Region - Noémie Broussoux-Coutard, David Butler, Ashley Eddy and Brandy Stabley
Nevada/California Region - Christine Amezcua, Kristine Lowe, Tatiana Ochoa Jandres, Daniele Perazzo, Christel Marie San Diego and Nicole Wassef

Regional Coordinator Distinguished Service Award
A retiring Regional Coordinator who has served less than five years and has demonstrated exemplary leadership and service may be recognized with the Regional Coordinator Distinguished Service Award. Recipients will receive an award plaque presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Jon Wood, Minn-Kota Regional Coordinator

Regional Coordinator Emeritus
A retiring Regional Coordinator with five years or more of service, with an outstanding record of leading the region and supporting the mission of Phi Theta Kappa may be recognized as a Regional Coordinator Emeritus. Recipients will receive an award plaque presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Cindy Armijo, New Mexico Regional Coordinator
The Late Margo Hamm, Kentucky Regional Coordinator

Regional Milestone Awards

The Regional Milestone Award recognizes a significant accomplishment and/or renewed enthusiasm among existing regions and superior achievements of newly organized regions. The award is based on quality of regional programming and other supporting evidence. Recipients will receive an award trophy presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Colorado/Wyoming Region - Arshi Nisley, Regional Coordinator
Florida Region - Connie LaMarca-Frankel, Regional Coordinator
Indiana Region - Dr. Leo Studach, Regional Coordinator
New England Region - Michelle Coach, Regional Coordinator
Pacific Region - Charlotte Toguchi, Regional Coordinator

Distinguished Region Awards

The Distinguished Region Awards recognize achievements of regions in areas of programming and organizational structure. Criteria include quality of regional programming, especially demonstrated leadership and/or Honors in Action programming at regional meetings; overall strength of chapters in the region; membership growth; and the quantity and quality of chapter participation in such programming as the Five Star Chapter Plan and Hallmark Awards. Recipients will receive an award trophy presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Alabama Region - Nora Lee, Regional Coordinator
Mississippi/Louisiana Region - Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Regional Coordinator
Tennessee Region - Gregg Garrison, Regional Coordinator

Continued Excellence Awards for Regions

A region that has received the Distinguished Region Award for three consecutive years and has continued to maintain a superior level of programming and structure may be recognized as a Continued Excellence Region. Recipients will receive an award trophy presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Michigan Region - Dr. Kari Kahler, Regional Coordinator
Middle States Region - Patricia Van Atter, Regional Coordinator
Texas Region - Debbra Esparza, Regional Coordinator

Distinguished Regional Coordinator Awards

The Distinguished Regional Coordinator Awards are selected by the Society’s executive staff. Selection is based on coordinators’ (1) encouragement, fellowship and continuity provided to chapters within the region; (2) assistance provided in planning and implementing regional meetings; (3) facilitation of attendance at international meetings by chapters in their region; (4) orientation, motivation and direction provided to chapter advisors and regional officers. Each recipient must have served the Society as a coordinator for a minimum of five years. Recipients will receive a commemorative pin presented during the regional meeting at NerdNation.

Debbra Esparza - Texas Regional Coordinator
Arshi Nisley - Colorado/Wyoming Regional Coordinator

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.