Baldwin, Van Atter to Serve on Board of Directors

Jackson, Mississippi – During Phi Theta Kappa’s recent annual convention in National Harbor, Maryland, former National President Valerie Baldwin was unanimously selected to fill the Alumni Representative position on the Board of Directors and Middle States Regional Coordinator Pattie Van Atter was elected Regional Coordinator Representative.
Baldwin was selected unanimously by the 2015-2016 International Officers as the Alumni Representative following Everett “Kip” Johnson’s retirement from the Board. Johnson, a former National President and Washington D.C. attorney, served on the Board of Directors for 20 years.

In 2015 Van Atter, who serves as Coordinator of Instructional and Support Services at Delaware Technical Community College, was temporarily appointed to fill the unexpired term of former Ohio Regional Coordinator Cindy Carbone. During the 2016 annual convention, Van Atter was elected to serve a three-year term on Phi Theta Kappa’s Board of Directors.

In addition, Dr. George Boggs, President and CEO Emeritus of the American Association of Community Colleges, was reappointed to a three-year term. An International Honorary Member, Boggs also serves as Vice Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Trustees. In  January 2016, Boggs and Van Atter were elected to serve as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors.

The International Officers also unanimously approved reappointing Dr. Daniel J. Phelan, President of Jackson College in Michigan, to a full three-year term as the Community College Administrator Representative on the Board. He was previously serving the unexpired term of AACC President and CEO Dr. Walter Bumphus.

Baldwin is currently serving as the Staff Assistant to the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations, Subcommittee on Homeland Security. A Society alumna, she is also a member of the Foundation Board of Trustees. Baldwin was inducted into the Chi Alpha Chapter at Seward County Community College in Kansas and served as Phi Theta Kappa’s National President in 1980-81.

She served as Assistant Secretary of the Army (Financial Management and Comptroller) from 2004-2006 and as Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Army until April 2007. Baldwin previously served eight years on the Appropriations Committee of the United States House of Representatives, spending nearly four years as Clerk of the Military Construction Subcommittee.

In addition, she served as a staff assistant on the Veterans Affairs, Housing and Urban Development, and Independent Agencies Subcommittees; as Legislative Counsel to the Housing Subcommittee of the Financial Services Committee; and as a trial attorney at the Department of Housing and Urban Development. Earlier in her career, Baldwin was a legislative assistant on the staffs of Senator Nancy Landon Kassebaum and Senator John Glenn.

She received her law degree from the University of Kansas School of Law, her master’s degree from the London School of Economics and Political Science, her bachelor’s degree from Wichita State University, and her associate degree from Seward County Community College. Baldwin has also served on the Board of Directors of DataPath, Inc., a subsidiary of Rockwell Collins, and on the Board of Directors of the Military Child Education Coalition.

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.