Alumni Members/Associations Recognized, AAC Representative Elected

Jackson, Mississippi - Alumni awards for individuals and chapters were presented at NerdNation 2016, Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention in National Harbor, Maryland, April 7-9. In addition, Ebonee Carpenter was elected as a member of the Society’s Alumni Advisory Council.  

Carpenter was inducted as a member of the Alpha Lambda Alpha Chapter at Hillsborough Community College in Florida and served as Phi Theta Kappa’s International President in 2014-15. She is now pursuing a baccalaureate degree at the University of Mississippi.

Alumni awards were presented at the Hallmark Gala and Alumni Social on April 9.

Alumni Association Awards recognize alumni associations that have been exemplary in the support of Phi Theta Kappa and its members. The 2016 winners are:

Outstanding Regional Alumni Associations:
Texas Regional Alumni Association
Alpha of Ohio Alumni Association
Middle States Regional Alumni Association  

Outstanding University-Based Alumni Association Award:

Athens State University Alumni Association (Alabama)

Outstanding Community-Based Alumni Association Award:
Alpha Gamma Pi Alumni Association (Texas)
Alpha Nu Omega Alumni Association (Pennsylvania)
Alpha Xi Pi Alumni Association (Tennessee)

The Alumni Association Award of Merit, which honors an alumni association that has been exemplary in providing support for two-year chapters, was presented to the Middle States Regional Alumni Association.

The Alumni Awards of Appreciation provide recognition to Phi Theta Kappa alumni who support the current and future members of the Society. The 2016 winners are:

Anna Van Loon
Nominated by Wisconsin Region

Abby Meyer
Nominated by Ohio Region

Jennifer Knee
Nominated by Middle States Regional Alumni Association

Sheri Wachman
Nominated by Middle States Region

Dolores Nelson
Nominated by Chi Gamma Chapter

Robert Lombrana
Nominated by Alpha Rho Lambda Chapter

Bree Pierfelice
Nominated by Alpha Psi Tau Chapter

Debbie Zamora
Nominated by Missouri Region

Michael Shoemaker
Nominated by Alpha Nu Omega Chapter

William Koch
Nominated by Carolinas Region

Elaine Rouse
Nominated by Alpha Phi Nu Chapter

Jennifer Knight
Nominated by Alpha Chi Sigma Chapter

Pam Howe
Nominated by Kansas/Nebraska Region

Calleb Bryan Capshaw
Nominated by Tennessee Region

Eric Trey Mueller
Nominated by Eta Gamma Chapter

Julie Gore
Nominated by Beta Theta Xi Chapter

Mario Areolla
Nominated by Alpha Omega Iota Chapter

Cheryl Maxwell
Nominated by Beta Beta Tau Chapter

Shanna E. Boley
Nominated by the Alpha Nu Omega Alumni Association

Michelle Silenzio-Franklin
Nominated by Rho Upsilon Chapter

Jack Bryant, an alumnus of the Mu Chi Chapter at Connors State College in Oklahoma who currently serves as president of Redlands Community College, received the Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award during the second general session.

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.