Transfer Honor Roll: 65 Colleges & Universities Recognized for Dynamic Transfer Pathways

Jackson, Mississippi – Phi Theta Kappa has recognized 65 colleges and universities as members of Phi Theta Kappa’s Transfer Honor Roll, which identifies the top four-year colleges and universities for creating dynamic pathways to support community college transfer.

Winners were selected based engagement, collaboration, impact and achievements related to the transfer of community college students as well as partnerships, support, admissions outreach, scholarships/financial aid, student engagement opportunities and institutional priorities. Information submitted in the applications has the potential to support future transfer studies from Phi Theta Kappa. 

These 65 colleges and universities, which offer exemplary programs, initiatives, and benefits for community college transfers, will be featured in the 2017 Phi Theta Kappa Partners in Excellence publication, distributed to higher education leaders nationally, and will receive recognition on Phi Theta Kappa’s website and at PTK Catalyst, Phi Theta Kappa’s 2017 annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, April 6-8.

 Members of the 2017 Transfer Honor Roll are:

Adelphi University

Alderson Broaddus University

Appalachian State University

Bellevue University

Cleveland State University

Dallas Baptist University

Delta State University

DePaul University

Dominican University

East Stroudsburg University

Eastern Michigan University

Florida International University

Friends University

Georgia Southern University

Grand Valley State University

Grand View University

Hofstra University

Illinois State University

Iowa State University

Kansas State University

Kean University

La Salle University

Lake Forest College

Lawrence University

LIM College

Lipscomb University

Long Island University

Loyola Marymount University

Marygrove College

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Miami University

Nichols College

North Carolina Wesleyan College

Ohio University

Oklahoma Baptist University

Quinnipiac University

Rider University

Roanoke College

Rutgers University- Newark

Saint Joseph's University

Saint Peter's University

Seattle University

Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania

Springfield College

St. John Fisher College

Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi

Texas A&M University- Kingsville

Texas Tech University

The Ohio State University

The University of Arizona

Trinity International University

University of Alabama

University of Findlay

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

University of Kansas

University of Mississippi

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

University of North Texas

University of Tampa

University of Texas at Arlington

University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley

Utica College

Wayne State University

Webster University

York College of Pennsylvania

Phi Theta Kappa CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner said the new recognition program reflects the growing importance of transfer in helping the U.S. achieve its college completion goals, and will promote further study and sharing of best practices.

“Increasingly, students of all ages and achievement levels are choosing the community college, not only as their first step, but also their first choice, in the pursuit of a quality, affordable bachelor’s degree,” Tincher-Ladner said. “With this designation, we hope to connect community college students with institutions who value their unique transfer experience and prioritize their success.”

Tincher-Ladner added that colleges and universities who provide high-quality transfer programs benefit from the rich perspective and diversity community college students bring to the student body.

"These students are scholars, leaders, global citizens, often with higher grade point averages than students who started at the university,” she said. “In order to ensure their continued success, the Transfer Honor Roll Program identifies colleges and universities that understand the unique needs of community college transfer students and applauds the dynamic pathways these colleges have created to continue fostering student success at the four-year college.”

Comments are closed.