Fifteen Named Phi Theta Kappa Paragon Advisors

Fifteen Phi Theta Kappa advisors were honored with the Paragon Award for New Advisors, presented by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during PTK Catalyst 2017, the annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, April 6-8. Recipients received commemorative medallions and were honored during the Association of Chapter Advisors Luncheon, sponsored by the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation.

The Paragon Award for New Advisors recognizes advisors who have served less than four years and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter’s advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international level of the organization. Advisors were nominated by their chapters through the Hallmark Awards application process.  They were selected by a panel of judges from over 56 nominees worldwide.

The 2017 Paragon Award for New Advisor winners are:

Chrissy Baker
Alpha Phi Alpha Chapter
Butler Community College
Andover, Kansas

Miranda Baker
Tau Gamma Chapter
Northampton Community College
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Karen Dale
Omega Omicron Chapter
Cleveland State Community College
Cleveland, Tennessee

Heather D'Orlando
Alpha Lambda Zeta Chapter
Asnuntuck Community College
Enfield, Connecticut

Dr. Julie Flegal-Smallwood
Alpha Beta Upsilon Chapter
Redlands Community College
El Reno, Oklahoma

Roberto Garcia
Iota Xi Chapter
Union County College
Cranford, New Jersey

Jennifer Gasparino
Alpha Eta Chi Chapter
Passaic County Community College
Paterson, New Jersey

Dr. Patricia Hall
Beta Zeta Nu Chapter
Cañada College
Redwood City, California

Bonnie Kesler
Eta Nu Chapter
St. Petersburg College
St. Petersburg, Florida

Debbie Kuchmas
Chi Rho Chapter
Housatonic Community College
Bridgeport, Connecticut

Dr. Shereen Lerner
Omicron Beta Chapter
Mesa Community College
Mesa, Arizona

George Melchor
Omicron Psi Chapter
Grayson College
Denison, Texas

Jonathan Morris
Iota Mu Chapter
Pearl River Community College
Poplarville, Mississippi

Cassandra Rincones
Alpha Lambda Xi Chapter
Lone Star College-Kingwood
Kingwood, Texas

Samantha Speeg
Eta Omega Chapter
Copiah-Lincoln Community College
Wesson, Mississippi

The 2017 Advisor Awards are sponsored by Envision and The Art Institutes.

Comments are closed.