Phi Theta Kappa Announces 2017 Regional Award Winners

Phi Theta Kappa regional award winners were honored during PTK Catalyst 2017, the annual convention in Nashville, Tennessee, April 6-8. Awards were presented and recipients received recognition during the Parade of Flags Ceremony in the Opening General Session, sponsored by GEICO. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of a total of 29 regions. Regional Coordinators serve as the leader of the region and as the liaison between Phi Theta Kappa Headquarters and the chapters in their region.

Phi Theta Kappa’s 2017 regional award winners are:

Regional Coordinator Distinguished Service Award

A retiring Regional Coordinator who has served less than five years and has demonstrated exemplary leadership and service may be recognized with the Regional Coordinator Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. James Brumbaugh
Virginia/West Virginia Regional Coordinator

Dr. Alexander D'Erizans
New York Regional Coordinator

Regional Milestone Awards

The Regional Milestone Award recognizes a significant accomplishment and/or renewed enthusiasm among existing regions and superior achievements of newly organized regions.

Illinois Region
Susan LaMore, Regional Coordinator

Iowa Region
Sima Dabir, Regional Coordinator

Nevada/California Region
Charles Klein, Regional Coordinator

Distinguished Region Awards

The Distinguished Region Awards recognize achievements of regions in areas of programming and organizational structure. Criteria include quality of regional programming, especially demonstrated leadership and/or Honors in Action programming at regional meetings; overall strength of chapters in the region; membership growth; and the quantity and quality of chapter participation in such programming as the Five Star Chapter Plan and Hallmark Awards.

Alabama Region
Nora Lee, Regional Coordinator

New England Region
Michelle Coach, Regional Coordinator

Tennessee Region
Gregg Garrison, Regional Coordinator

Wisconsin Region
Linda Duffy, Regional Coordinator

Continued Excellence Awards for Regions

A region that has received the Distinguished Region Award for three consecutive years and has continued to maintain a superior level of programming and structure may be recognized as a Continued Excellence Region.

Middle States Region
Patricia Van Atter, Regional Coordinator

Mississippi/Louisiana Region
Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Regional Coordinator

Texas Region
Debbra Esparza, Regional Coordinator

Distinguished Regional Coordinator Awards

The Distinguished Regional Coordinator Awards are selected by the Society’s executive staff. Selection is based on coordinators’: (1) encouragement, fellowship and continuity provided to chapters within the region; (2) assistance provided in planning and implementing regional meetings; (3) facilitation of attendance at international meetings by chapters in their region; (4) orientation, motivation and direction provided to chapter advisors and regional officers. Each recipient must have served the Society as a coordinator for a minimum of five years.

Sima Dabir
Iowa Regional Coordinator

Linda Duffy
Wisconsin Regional Coordinator

Tammy Fuentez
Kansas/Nebraska Regional Coordinator

Comments are closed.