All-USA Community College Academic Team Awarded $100,000 in Scholarships

New Orleans, Louisiana - Twenty two-year college students have been named to the All-USA Community College Academic Team, honored for their outstanding intellectual achievement and leadership with $100,000 in scholarships. Each team member will receive a $5,000 scholarship, furnished by Follett Higher Education Group.

The All-USA program is widely recognized as the most prestigious academic honor for students attending community college. Each college may nominate two students for showing intellectual rigor and for demonstrating academic achievement, leadership and civic growth. The program also recognizes students who extend their community college education to better themselves, their schools and their surrounding communities.

The 2017 All-USA Community College Academic Team is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group with additional support is provided by Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

Student winners will be introduced at Phi Theta Kappa's Presidents Breakfast held during the AACC Convention on April 24, in New Orleans, Louisiana. In addition to scholarship funds, each All-USA Community College Academic Team member will be presented with a special medallion. College presidents of team members also receive recognition for their leadership and a commemorative obelisk.

The members of the 2017 All-USA Community College Academic Team are:

Mohamed Abdullahi
Renton Technical College

Justin Alozie
Tarrant County College-Southeast Campus

Keegan Arnold
Marion Military Institute

Anna Pauline Badillo
Mt. San Antonio College-Walnut Campus

Rachel Diaz
Miami Dade College-North Campus

Scott Duffy
Delaware County Community College-Media/Marple Campus

Juan Carlos Flores
Palomar College-San Marcos Campus

Grayson Katzenbach
Piedmont Virginia Community College-Charlottesville Campus

Rowen Kellogg           
Normandale Community College-Bloomington Campus

Charles Kivlehen
Lone Star College-Tomball Campus

Audrey Leggere-Hickey         
Front Range Community College-Boulder County Campus

Samueal Lema
Bristol Community College-Fall River Campus          

Andrew Marshall
Northeast Mississippi Community College-Booneville Campus

Savannah Martin
Lone Star College-Montgomery Campus

Yulisa Morelia
Grays Harbor College-Aberdeen Campus

Trisha Norfleet
Ivy Tech Community College-Kokomo Campus        

Elizabeth Pennington
Pima Community College-Desert Vista Campus

Elis Sholla
Schoolcraft College-Livonia Campus

Sheetal Singh
Oakton Community College

Michael Stark
Phoenix College

The team of 20 was selected by an independent panel of judges from colleges, community and national organizations and foundations. Judges considered grades, leadership activities and, most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

Phi Theta Kappa also awards additional scholarships through the New Century Scholars Program, sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and The Coca-Cola Foundation. These include scholarships totaling nearly $100,000 for 50 outstanding community college students.

About Follett

Follett Corporation is the world's largest single source of books, entertainment products, digital content and multi-media for libraries, schools and retailers. Follett provides education technology, services and content to 70,000 preK-12 schools, and operates more than 1,250 college campus stores and 1,600 virtual stores.

About the American Association of Community Colleges

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges. The association represents nearly 1,200 two-year, associate degree–granting institutions and more than 13 million students.

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.2 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.