The Reach - Phi Theta Kappa's Blog

The Reach

All the latest information, news and stories to inspire and inform Phi Theta Kappa members

Alpha Rho Mu Named 2016 Most Distinguished Chapter!

Alpha Rho Mu Named 2016 Most Distinguished Chapter!

For the second year in a row, the Alpha Rho Mu Chapter from Lone Star College-Tomball in Texas has been named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished Chapter!

This is the highest honor given to a Phi Theta Kappa chapter. Chapter advisors are Dr. Rebecca Tate and William Joe Simcik. Congratulations!

These awards were presented during the Hallmark Awards Gala Saturday evening. The Gala is sponsored by Mississippi College, which has generously sponsored the Gala for several years.

Also presented during the Hallmark Awards Gala were awards for College Project, Honors in Action Project, Honors in Action Theme and Distinguished Chapter. Beta Alpha Awards also went to chapters that have received a Distinguished Chapter Award for three consecutive years.

Names of the Alumni Award of Appreciation and the Alumni Association Award of Merit were shared with the audience, and those awards were officially presented during the Alumni Social Saturday evening.

View the 2016 Awards Program to see all 2016 Hallmark Award winners.

The nine finalists to Most Distinguished Chapter are:

First Finalist
Alpha Zeta Omicron
Cedar Valley College
Lancaster, Texas

Second Finalist
Iota Alpha
Trinity Valley Community College
Athens, Texas

Third Finalist
Omicron Beta
Mesa Community College
Mesa, Arizona

Fourth Finalist
Beta Gamma Zeta
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
Logansport, Indiana

Fifth Finalist
Alpha Epsilon Omicron
Trident Technical College
North Charleston, South Carolina

Sixth Finalist
Omega Sigma
Houston Community College
Houston, Texas

Seventh Finalist
Alpha Zeta Sigma
Greenville Technical College
Greenville, South Carolina

Eighth Finalist
Alpha Zeta Iota
Northwest Shoals Community College
Phil Campbell, Alabama

Ninth Finalist
Alpha Zeta Eta
North Lake College
Irving, Texas

Comments are closed.