Phi Theta Kappa Hites Scholars Awarded $75,000 in Scholarships

JACKSON, MS – Ten community college students from six states have been named recipients of the 2011 Phi Theta Kappa Hites Transfer Scholarships, receiving a total of $75,000 to assist in the attainment of baccalaureate degrees.

Hites Transfer Scholarship

The Hites Transfer Scholarship Program, made possible by support from the Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation and the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, supports the outstanding academic achievement of Phi Theta Kappa members. Phi Theta Kappa has doubled the number of Hites Scholarships presented from five students in 2010 to 10 students in 2011, increasing the scholarship funds awarded from $37,500 to $75,000.

Scholarships of $7,500 each were awarded to 10 students based on applications submitted by members. Students enrolled in community colleges and eligible to transfer to a regionally accredited baccalaureate degree-granting senior institution in the fall of 2011 were eligible to apply. Judges reviewed and scored applications for academic rigor, engagement, and leadership. The 2011 Hites Transfer Scholars were selected from more than 760 applicants worldwide. The recipients are:

Mary Alderman, Chipola College, Florida
Janet Burke, Montgomery College, Maryland
Joshua Collins, Hutchinson Community College, Kansas
Daniel Copeland, Sierra College, California
Katie Glennemeier, Western Wyoming Community College, Wyoming
Alfredo Perez, Southwestern College, California
Caitlyn Prichard, Chipola College, Florida
Cody Russell, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas
Sarah Swatski, Harford Community College, Maryland
Alina Turpin, Cerritos College, California

View the winners and 2012 application information online. Completed applications for 2012 Hites Scholarships must be submitted online by 5:00, p.m. CST, December 1, 2011.

In 2007 the Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation challenged the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation to raise $350,000, which would be matched almost 2-1 by the Hites Family Foundation to create the $1 million scholarship endowment. During the Society’s 2009 Annual Convention Foundation Trustees announced that Phi Theta Kappa had not only met, but exceeded the challenge, and the Hites Foundation issued a second, equally-successful matching challenge. In 2010 the Hites Foundation gave an additional $250,000 grant to the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation for the scholarship endowment to allow more scholarships to be awarded to Society members.

“When the Hites Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa joined together a few short years ago to take the initial steps toward establishing the endowment, none of use anticipated the severity of today’s economic challenges facing both students and colleges,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley. “The Hites Scholarships are helping to meet a need that becomes more crucial every day – helping our students follow through on their commitment to complete by providing financial assistance to make earning a baccalaureate degree possible. We are grateful for our partnership, and we congratulate these 2011 Hites Transfer Scholarship winners.”

The Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation was established by Robert Hites, an executive with Ralston-Purina in St. Louis, Missouri. Upon his retirement he fulfilled a lifelong dream and became an instructor at St. Louis Community College.

Robert Hites turned down opportunities to teach at prestigious senior institutions because he valued the educational experience offered by community colleges, and he witnessed the determination and will to succeed of his community college students. He also came to understand their needs, and was determined to help them achieve their dreams, as he had achieved his.

“Anyone managing ‘financial’ investments recently has had their work cut out for them,” said Ray Hites, President of the Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation. “However, ‘investing’ in students … ‘investing’ in education … ‘investing’ in future generations of Phi Theta Kappa members and helping them achieve their goals and dreams. Those are ‘timeless investments’ … ‘recession-proof’ investments.”

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually. Learn more.

The Phi Theta Kappa Foundation is focused on long-term financial stability for Phi Theta Kappa. It is dependent upon the generosity of individuals, organizations, foundations and corporations to ensure its future through support of existing and establishment of new endowment funds.

Contact: Melissa Mayer 601.984.3684

Recommended Posts