Phi Theta Kappa Announces 2012 Faculty Scholars

Jackson, MS – Twenty-five community college instructors have been chosen from among nearly 3,000 chapter advisors to serve as Phi Theta Kappa’s 2012 Faculty Scholars. The scholars were selected through a rigorous application process based on knowledge of the 2012-2013 Honors Study Topic, “The Culture of Competition,” and demonstrated excellence in teaching or administration.

The group will attend the annual Faculty Scholar Conference, sponsored in part by the National Endowment for the Humanities, at Phi Theta Kappa’s Center for Excellence in Jackson, Mississippi, February 1-5, 2012.

During the Faculty Scholar Conference, the Scholars will prepare to serve as facilitators during Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Institute, to be held in June 2012.

While attending the Honors Institute these Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Scholars will lead groups of 15-20 honor students in seminar discussions of the issues presented by experts on the topic throughout the week. The Scholars will attend Part II of the Faculty Scholar Conference prior to the Honors Institute.

“The Faculty Scholar Conference is recognized internationally as one of the finest professional development programs available for community college faculty members,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley. “Intense training is provided by nationally recognized scholars to prepare the Faculty Scholars to serve as facilitators for the Honors Institute, which is attended by approximately 400 Phi Theta Kappa members and chapter advisors from around the world, and praised as ‘the crown jewel of honors programming experiences.'”

The 2012 Faculty Scholars are listed below along with their community college, state and academic field:

Jamal Adam
Minneapolis Community College, Minnesota
Counseling/Psychology/First Year Experience

Dr. Randy Allison
Blinn College-Bryan Campus, Texas

Barbara Casteel
Tillamook Bay Community College, Oregon
Science Education

Sima Dabir
Western Iowa Technical College, Iowa

JodyLee Estrada Duek
Pima Community College, Arizona

Christina Gant
St. Charles Community College, Missouri

Amy Hancock
South Georgia College, Georgia
Education/Coordinator of Grants & Special Programs

Dr. Liesl Harris
Jefferson State Community College – Shelby Campus, Alabama

Dr. Erica Hastert
Arapahoe Community College, Colorado

Dr. Ken Kerr
Frederick Community College, Maryland

Daryl Milligan
Trident Technical College, South Carolina
Business Technology

Jeanette Milius
Iowa Western Community College, Iowa
AccountingBusiness Administration

Shirley Olund
Carl Albert State College, Oklahoma

* Martha Petry (Parnell Scholar)
Jackson Community College, Michigan

Dan Rooney
Western Technical College, Wisconsin
CommunicationsTechnical Writing

Paul Roscelli
Canada College, California

Steve Schroeder
College of DuPage, Illinois

Sauda Smith
H. Lavity Stoutt Community College, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Desiree South
Muscle Shoals Community College – Shelby Campus, Alabama

Christine Solomon
Trident Technical College. South Carolina

Lisa Wall
Blinn College, Texas

Dr. Melissa Weinbrenner
Northeast Texas Community College, Texas

Matt Wiley
The Victoria College, Texas

Dr. Patricia West
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College – Jefferson Davis Campus, Mississippi

Lisa York
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College, South Carolina

Martha Petry of Jackson Community College in Michigan was selected as the 2012 Parnell Scholar. Named for former AACC President and Phi Theta Kappa Board Member Dr. Dale Parnell, the Parnell Scholarship is presented to a chapter advisor selected as a Faculty Scholar who has submitted an outstanding application and never attended an Annual Convention or Honors Institute. This award pays for all travel, accommodations, and registration fees to the Annual Convention. Phi Theta Kappa covers expenses for travel, accommodations, and programs for each Scholar to participate in the Faculty Scholar Conference and Honors Institute.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts