Phi Theta Kappa Charters 15 Chapters in 2011

Jackson, MS – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chartered 15 new chapters in 11 states, in addition to its first South American chapter in Lima, Peru, during 2011.

The Society's first chapter in South America was chartered in Peru on Nov. 10.

A Phi Theta Kappa Chartering Ceremony was held at the Broward College-Center for American Education in Lima, Peru, on November 10, 2011.

To receive an invitation to membership in Phi Theta Kappa students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree, must generally have a grade point average of 3.5; and adhere to the standards of the Society.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa may apply for some $37 million in transfer scholarships, provided exclusively to Society members by approximately 750 senior institutions. In addition Phi Theta Kappa offers members numerous opportunities for participation in honors programs, leadership training, and service to their communities.

In order to charter a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa a college must be a regionally accredited institution offering associate degree programs.

During 2011 chapters of Phi Theta Kappa were chartered at the following colleges (Charter date follows):

Jefferson Community & Technical College
Beta Tau Beta Chapter
Carrollton, KY

Metropolitan Community College
Beta Tau Kappa Chapter
Kansas City, MO

Montgomery County Community
Beta Tau Lambda Chapter
Pottstown, PA

Spartanburg Community College
Beta Sigma Psi Chapter
Spartanburg, South Carolina

SUNY Cayuga Community College
Beta Tau Iota Chapter
Fulton, NY

Edison State College
Beta Tau Pi Chapter
LaBelle, FL

University of Alaska Anchorage
Beta Tau Delta Chapter
Anchorage, AK

Ohlone College
Beta Tau Mu Chapter
Fremont, CA

Central Georgia Technical College
Macon, GA
Beta Tau Omicron Chapter

Keiser University
Beta Tau Tau Chapter
Ft. Myers, FL

Heald College-Modesto
Salida, CA
Beta Tau Upsilon Chapter

Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe, LA
Beta Rho Phi Chapter

Durham Technical Community College
Beta Tau Phi Chapter
Durham, North Carolina

Broward College-Center for American Education
Beta Tau Omega Chapter
Lima, Peru

Southeast Missouri Hospital College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Beta Sigma Kappa Chapter
Cape Girardeau, MO

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,275 chapters on college campuses in the 50 U.S. states, Canada, Germany, Peru the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 125,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts