2012 New Century Scholars Named

Jackson, MS – Fifty-one community college students from the United States, Canada and Guam have been named 2012 New Century Scholars – receiving over $100,000 in scholarships.The New Century Scholars Program is sponsored by Coca-Cola Refreshments, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

The New Century Scholars program and All-USA Community College Academic Team, which is presented by USA TODAY and Phi Theta Kappa and sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group, share a common application and together recognize outstanding community college students. More than 1,720 students were nominated from more than 860 community colleges for recognition. Judges consider grades, leadership, activities and most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

New Century Scholars are the highest scoring students in each state, plus one student from Canada and one additional student chosen from among one of the remaining seven sovereign nations where Phi Theta Kappa is represented internationally. Each scholar will receive a $2,000 scholarship and plaque, and will be recognized in the April 23, 2012 edition of USA TODAY.

“We appreciate the support of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and Coca-Cola Refreshments to recognize the academic achievement and leadership accomplishments of these outstanding community college students,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director, Dr. Rod Risley. “These scholarships provided by organizations like Coca-Cola make the goal of college completion possible – especially during these challenging economic times.”

The 2012 New Century Scholars are:

Alabama – Billy Joe Ammons, Jr., Lurleen B. Wallace Community College

Alaska – Mackenzie Merrill, Matanuska-Susitna College

Arizona – Adam M. James, Pima Community College

Arkansas – Kris Hollingsworth, North Arkansas College

California – Amy Bartel, Mt. San Jacinto College

Colorado – Valerie Machovec, Arapahoe Community College

Connecticut – Carlos V. Julca, Norwalk Community College

Delaware – Natallia Kramarava, Delaware Technical and Community College

Florida – Alistair Glover, St. Petersburg College

Georgia – Byron Simmons, Atlanta Metropolitan College

Hawaii – Thuy Vy Thi Luu, Kapi`olani Community College

Idaho – David Teuscher, College of Southern Idaho

Illinois – Regina Therese D’Amico, McHenry County College

Indiana – Brent Kleinhenz, Ivy Tech Community College

Iowa – Brandon Pals, Marshalltown Community College

Kansas – Dustin Aherin, Allen County Community College

Kentucky – Mike Moore, Somerset Community College

Louisiana – Marketa Janousova, Delgado Community College

Maine – Morgan J. Talty, Eastern Maine Community College

Maryland – Tia L. Holmes, Prince George’s Community College

Massachusetts – Mark Valentine, Middlesex Community College

Michigan – Leah Marie Esslinger, Schoolcraft College

Minnesota – Bradley T. Conley, Minneapolis Community and Technical College

Mississippi – Kimberly Madison Kolpek, Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Missouri – Emmanuel Kamguia Kamgaing, Crowder College

Montana – Stephen Wurz, Montana State University, College of Technology

Nebraska – Candyce L. Hemmer, Southeast Community College

Nevada – Matthew Stolz, Deep Springs College

New Hampshire – Charlotte Donna McIntyre, River Valley Community College

New Jersey – Carla Berenice Alvarez-Valverde, Essex County College

New Mexico – Shannon Kay Krause, Luna Community College

New York – Todd A. Stevens, Erie Community College

North Carolina – Connie E. Buterbaugh, Guilford Technical Community College

North Dakota- Tyler Jon Loll, North Dakota State College of Science

Ohio – Ellyn Schmiesing, James A. Rhodes State College

Oklahoma – Austin Brooke Christopher, Carl Albert State College

Oregon – Britney Meza-Turner, Treasure Valley Community College

Pennsylvania – Nichole Whitney Philipp, Delaware County Community College

Rhode Island – Lauren Macbeth, Community College of Rhode Island

South Carolina – Sheldon J. Sumpter, Midlands Technical College

Tennessee – Brittany Thomas, Northeast State Community College

Texas – Clinton D. Pruitt, Tyler Junior College

Utah – Christopher F. Thompson, Salt Lake Community College

Virginia – Heather Kirkpatrick, Northern Virginia Community College

Washington – Victoria Spring Albritton, North Seattle Community College

West Virginia – Joanna M. Post, New River Community and Technical College

Wisconsin – Port V. Lor, Northeast Wisconsin Technical College

Wyoming – Taesub Kim, Sheridan College

Canada – Rachel Cash, Medicine Hat College

Guam – Jacob Kanrad Fathal, Guam Community College

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts