ACCT Receives 2012 Alliance for Educational Excellence Award

JACKSON, MS – The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) has received the 2012 Alliance for Educational Excellence Award, presented by Phi Theta Kappa to organizations providing exceptional support for higher education.

Roberto Uranga, ACCT Chair

Roberto Uranga, ACCT Chair

“The Alliance for Educational Excellence Award is a wonderful tribute to the work that ACCT has been doing with its member boards across the nation,” said ACCT Chair Roberto Uranga, a trustee at California’s Long Beach City College, who accepted the award on ACCT’s behalf during Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention held April 12-14 in Nashville.

In 2001, Phi Theta Kappa, Phi Beta Kappa, and the National Honor Society launched an initiative, The Alliance for Educational Excellence, to promote broad-based excellence in learning at all levels of education. Phi Theta Kappa has assumed the leadership role for this initiative, which now includes many international and national education-based organizations.

Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley said ACCT was recognized for outstanding leadership in addressing the Community College Completion Challenge. ACCT was the first of six national partner organizations to organize a Community College Completion Summit to create a national awareness of the completion initiative and the degree of urgency with which it must be addressed.

“ACCT engaged community college trustees in discussing and developing strategies regarding their role and their institution’s role in effectively measuring student success,” Dr. Risley said. “For these outstanding efforts given to improve student success and college completion, Phi Theta Kappa expresses profound appreciation to ACCT for its commitment to aid all community college students in reaching their dreams for a better life by completing what they start.”

Past recipients of the Alliance for Educational Excellence Award have included USA TODAY for its 20 years of support for the All-USA Community College Academic Team, the Coca-Cola Foundation and Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their support of the New Century Scholars Program, Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program, and Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program; the American Association of Community Colleges for their support and engagement with Phi Theta Kappa spanning several decades; the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation for their efforts in raising the issue of equity with regard to selective senior colleges admitting community college transfer students; and the Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation for their contribution of over $2 million for the establishment of an endowment for Phi Theta Kappa transfer scholarships.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts