Alabama Advisor Elected to ACA, Kentucky Advisor Re-Elected to Board

Jackson, MS – Dr. Liesl Ward Harris, a faculty advisor from Alabama, was elected 2012-2013 Secretary of the Association of Chapter Advisors (ACA) and Kentucky faculty advisor Dan Bailey was re-elected to serve a second term on the Society’s Board of Directors during Phi Theta Kappa’s 2012 Annual Convention in Nashville April 12-14.

The ACA is a non-dues paying organization for Phi Theta Kappa faculty advisors. ACA officers may be called upon to serve on various committees, act as facilitators for advisor enrichment, and provide feedback to Headquarters Staff on a variety of Society issues and programs. Each ACA Officer serves a three-year term beginning in the position of Secretary then advancing to Vice Chair and Chair positions.

Liesl Ward Harris

Dr. Liesl Ward Harris

Dr. Ward Harris, Chairperson for the Division of Communications, Mathematics, and Physical Sciences at Jefferson State Community College, Shelby-Hoover Campus, is the Humanities Representative on Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Program Council, has served as a Faculty Scholar for previous Society Honors Institutes, and is a certified instructor in Phi Theta Kappa’s Leadership Development Program. During the Annual Convention she received an Advisor Continued Excellence Award, and her chapter received several awards, including first finalist to 2012 Most Distinguished Chapter, a Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award, Honors in Action Issue Award, Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award, and Distiguished College Project Award.

During a separate Annual Convention election Dan Bailey, a Phi Theta Kappa faculty advisor at Ashland Technical & Community College in Kentucky, was re-elected to serve a second term as the Advisor Representative on Phi Theta Kappa’s Board of Directors.

Dan Bailey

Dan Bailey

Bailey, a counselor and professor of health science at Ashland Technical and Community College, is a former Mosal Scholar and Advisor Continued Excellence winner who has been an advisor of the Alpha Gamma Omega Chapter for 18 years. He has also served as an ACA Officer, Faculty Scholar, Mosal Scholar judge, Chapter Officer Academy Facilitator and is a certified instructor in Phi Theta Kappa’s Leadership Development Program. The Alpha Gamma Omega Chapter has achieved the highest level of recognition as a Five-Star Chapter in the Society’s Five-Star Chapter Development Program.

The Board of Directors governs all policies of Phi Theta Kappa and ensures that the Society’s mission to nurture academic excellence among community college students is reflected in all Society programs and endeavors.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts