Holmes Community College Members Honored for Society Accomplishments

Jackson, MS – Phi Theta Kappa members and advisors from the three campuses of Holmes Community College in Mississippi were honored on the floor of the legislature at Mississippi’s State Capitol recently for their accomplishments at the Society’s Annual Convention in Nashville April 12-14.

Holmes Chapters honored at Mississippi's Capitol

Holmes Chapters honored at Mississippi’s Capitol

Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant also issued a proclamation honoring the three chapters of Phi Theta Kappa at Holmes Community College and sent a letter to each graduate of the college including congratulations to the three Society chapters.

“On behalf of the State of Mississippi, I would like to congratulate you on your accomplishments! Pursuing education and workforce training takes time and dedication, and you are to be commended for your diligence. You are no doubt now well-prepared to create successful futures for yourselves, and I appreciate the leadership I know you will provide to this great state,” Governor Bryant wrote. “I also extend special congratulations to the students of Phi Theta Kappa for their recent recognition at the Phi Theta Kappa International Conference in Nashville. Being named Most Distinguished Chapter for the third consecutive year is a tremendous achievement, and the State of Mississippi is proud of your accomplishments!”

Students from all three chapters – Kappa Alpha at Holmes-Goodman; Alpha Mu Beta, Holmes-Grenada; and Alpha Lambda Sigma, Holmes-Ridgeland — had recently attended Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention, which concluded with the Hallmark Awards Ceremony.

Holmes Community College students garnered awards in almost every category. Most notably, the Kappa Alpha Chapter in Goodman was named Phi Theta Kappa’s 2012 Most Distinguished Chapter. This is the second year in a row that the chapter has earned the organization’s highest honor and the third year in a row that a Holmes chapter has been named Most Distinguished Chapter.

Holmes Community College President Dr. Glenn F. Boyce described the experience as “an incredible achievement.”

In addition to being named Most Distinguished Chapter the Holmes Community College-Goodman campus chapter also racked up their share of honors at this year’s ceremony including the Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award, Distinguished Issue Award, Distinguished College Project Award and Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award. Goodman Advisor Jeff Edwards was presented with the Advisor Continued Excellence Award.

Grenada’s Alpha Mu Beta Chapter was named 1st Finalist to the Most Distinguished Chapter. Additionally, the chapter received the Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award, Distinguished Issue Award, Distinguished College Project Award and Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award.

Ridgeland’s Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter was named 5th Finalist to the Most Distinguished Chapter, in addition to winning the USA TODAY Case Study Challenge, for their work on stem cell research. The Ridgeland chapter also received the Distinguished Chapter Award, Distinguished Issue Award, Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award and Distinguished College Project Award. Ridgeland campus student William Harris Runion was named a Distinguished Chapter Member.

Holmes Community College President Dr. Glenn Boyce was awarded the prestigious Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction for his commitment to supporting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa.

“Competing against the best of the best, our college’s three chapters finished 1st, 2nd and 5th in the world. To my knowledge no other college in history has ever placed three chapters in the top five.” Boyce said. “What that says to me is that, not only can Holmes Community College students compete on the world stage, they can absolutely shine.”

Other top finalists for Most Distinguished Chapter included Beta Lambda Delta Chapter, Jefferson State Community College, Alabama, (tied with Holmes Community College-Grenada for First Finalist); Alpha Zeta Iota Chapter, Northwest Shoals Community College, Phil Campbell Campus, Alabama, Third Finalist; Beta Zeta Nu Chapter, Canada College, California, Fourth Finalist; Alpha Zeta Eta Chapter, North Lake College, Texas, Sixth Finalist; Iota Alpha Chapter, Trinity Valley Community College, Texas, Seventh Finalist; Omega Sigma Chapter, Houston Community College, Texas, Eighth Finalist; and Phi Beta Chapter, College of DuPage, Illinois, Ninth Finalist. Find a complete list of all Hallmark Award winners and Five Star Chapter Development Plan rankings in the online Awards Program.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts