Lou Oberndorf Named Trustee of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation

JACKSON, MS – The Phi Theta KappaFoundation has named former METI CEO Lou Oberndorf asa member of the Board of Trustees. The Foundation was created to direct the Society’s fundraising and development programs.

Lou Oberndorf

Lou Oberndorf

Oberndorf was a founder of METI, a world leader in medical education technology. METI products are used in many community colleges, as well as in the world’s leading medical schools and in some 5,000 organizations worldwide.

As CEO of METI, Lou Oberndorf was responsible for establishing the Frank Lanza Memorial Scholarships for community college students in health care fields. A total of $50,000 in Lanza Scholarships will be presented in 2012.

Oberndorf served as a panelist at Phi Theta Kappa’s 2011 Annual Convention presentation on college completion, and in November he and his wife Rosemary helped establish the Oberndorf Lifeline to Completion Scholarship, agreeing to match contributions one-to-one up to $125,000.

During his 2012 Annual Convention remarks, Oberndorf announced that he and his wife would provide, separate from the challenge, $25,000 to fund 10 Oberndorf Scholarships of $2,500 each to be awarded in 2013 – an announcement greeted by a standing ovation. A second Oberndorf Challenge to raise an additional $125,000 to be matched by the Oberndorfs is now underway to establish a $500,000 endowment to fund the completion scholarships.

Oberndorf is a graduate of the University of Portland in Oregon, and holds an MBA from the University of Utah. He completed the Senior Management Executive Program at the University of Michigan. Oberndorf has also served on advisory boards for many university medical centers and medical education programs. He is a committed supporter of college completion as a means to provide an educated, qualified workforce to be competitive in the global economy. Now retired, Oberndorf and his wife Rosemary reside in Sarasota, Florida.

Officers of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation’s Board of Trustees are Dr. Matthew Quinn, Founding Executive Director Emeritus of the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation, Virginia, Chair; Dr. Jo Marshall, President of Somerset Community College, Kentucky, Vice Chair and Treasurer; and Dr. Rod A. Risley, Executive Director of Phi Theta Kappa, Mississippi, Secretary. Dr. Nancy L. Rieves, Director of Advancement for Phi Theta Kappa, is Executive Director of the Foundation and a Trustee.

Other Trustees include alumnae Dr. Janice Freeman and Dr. Joyce Freeman, Emeritus Adjunct Professors and retired Phi Theta Kappa advisors, Texas A & M University – Corpus Christi; Dr. Douglas W. Foard, retired Executive Secretary of Phi Beta Kappa; alumnus Wes Moore, author and television host, New York; alumna Mirta Ojito, Assistant Professor in the Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University, New York; alumnus Dr. David Shinn, Professor, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University, Washington, D.C.; J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Georgia; alumna Dr. E. Ann McGee, President of Seminole State College, Florida; and Ray Hites, President of the Hites Family Community College Scholarship Foundation, Missouri.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts