2012 Phi Theta Kappa Nota Bene Authors Receive $3,000 in Scholarships

Jackson, MS – Literary works from 13 Phi Theta Kappa members have been chosen from 809 entries for publication in the 2012 edition of Nota Bene, the Society’s honors anthology. Authors of the four most outstanding entries received $3,000 in Nota Bene scholarships.

Nota Bene was founded in 1994 to showcase exceptional writing among community college students. Copies of Nota Bene are distributed to all community college libraries and to Phi Theta Kappa leaders.

“We congratulate our 2012 Nota Bene honorees and their colleges,” said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director Dr. Rod A. Risley, who serves as Founding Editor of the honors anthology.

“At a time when excellent writing skills are critically needed, Phi Theta Kappa is proud to provide a platform to nurture creative writing and effective communication. Nota Bene, which is distributed internationally, showcases outstanding writing by community college students and emphasizes the opportunities for excellence found at community colleges,” said Dr. Risley. “Our Nota Bene competition is an outstanding example of Phi Theta Kappa’s success in effectively engaging students, which promotes retention and encourages college completion.”

Winners of the 2012 Nota Bene scholarships are –
Citation Scholarships of $1,000, for the Best Overall Entries:

Elizabeth Vasquez, The Rwandan Genocide: A Tragedy Born from Colonialism
Beta Iota Sigma Chapter
Front Range Community College
Boulder County Campus

Nicholas Tyler Reich, Body of work:
Bad News
Getting Older
The Table
Things Change

Lambda Epsilon Chapter
Bevill State Community College
Jasper Campus

Reynolds Scholarship Winners of $500 each:
Heather Herbert, The Place of Women in Society, from the Romantic Period to the Victorian Age
Chi Xi Chapter
Darton State College

Danielle Tate-Maccaroni, Of Pagans and Puritans: The Nuances of Anne Bradstreet
Alpha Rho Upsilon Chapter
Blue Ridge Community College
North Carolina

The following students also had their works selected for publication in Nota Bene:

L.C. Atencio, Believing in words, not in whoever, and Staring through the cracks of reality
Chi Epsilon Chapter
Valencia College
East Campus

Steven James Beto, Plain Folk
Beta Theta Tau Chapter
Dakota County Technical College

Kaitlin Browne, And Sometimes Y: A Cinderella Story
Alpha Rho Lambda Chapter
Jackson Community College

Christine Drake, Not Everything Is Black and White
Alpha Rho Epsilon Chapter
Columbus State Community College

Stephanie Goss, Road Trip
Alpha Omicron Omega Chapter
Hinds Community College
Rankin Branch

Heather Herbert, T.S. Eliot: Bringing Sex, Death and Desolation to Tea
Chi Xi Chapter
Darton State College

Samantha Hulatt, A Spectacular Growing Season
Psi Upsilon Chapter
Tidewater Community College
Virginia Beach Campus

James E. Hodges, Worst Day of His Life and My Books Are Vets
Beta Tau Gamma Chapter
Pearl River Community College
Forrest County Center

Danielle Tate-Maccaroni, On Receiving the Collected Works of W. B. Yeats
Alpha Rho Upsilon Chapter
Blue Ridge Community College
North Carolina

Elizabeth Vasquez, Vietnam
Beta Iota Sigma Chapter
Front Range Community College
Boulder County Campus

Trevor Neil White, [Citation Not Needed]
Iota Omega Chapter
Centralia College

Mary Wolff, A Case of Her
Pi Lambda Chapter
Seminole State College of Florida

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany,the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts