Phi Theta Kappa Charters Eight New Chapters in 2012

Jackson, MS – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chartered eight new chapters in seven states during 2012– in addition to its first all-online chapter at Ashford University.

Cuyahoga Community College in Ohio chartered a Phi Theta Kappa Chapter at their Westlake Campus in 2012, the fifth chapter for the college.

To receive an invitation to membership in Phi Theta Kappa students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree, must generally have a grade point average of 3.5; and adhere to the standards of the Society.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa may apply for some $37 million in transfer scholarships, provided exclusively to Society members by approximately 750 senior institutions. In addition Phi Theta Kappa offers members numerous opportunities for participation in honors programs, leadership training, and service to their communities.

In order to charter a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa a college must be a regionally accredited institution offering associate degree programs.

During 2012 chapters of Phi Theta Kappa were chartered at the following colleges (charter date follows):

  • University of New Mexico-Gallup, Beta Tau Psi Chapter, Gallup, New Mexico, February 24
  • Ashford University-Online Campus, Beta Tau Chi Chapter, San Diego, California, March 13
  • Bowling Green Technical College, Beta Upsilon Alpha Chapter, Bowling Green, Kentucky, March 22
  • Marian Court College, Beta Tau Xi Chapter, Swampscott, Massachusetts, March 29
  • Nash Community College, Beta Upsilon Delta Chapter, Rocky Mount, North Carolina, April 30
  • Cuyahoga Community College, Beta Upsilon Beta Chapter, Westlake, Ohio, September 20
  • Valencia College-Lake Nona Campus, Beta Upsilon Zeta Chapter, Orlando, Florida, November 11
  • Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science, Beta Upsilon Mu Chapter, Cincinnati, Ohio, November 12

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in the 50 U.S. states, Canada, Germany, Peru the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts