Alpha Zeta Iota Named Most Distinguished Chapter

The Alpha Zeta Iota Chapter from Northwest Shoals Community College in Phil Campbell, Alabama, has been named Phi Theta Kappa’s 2013 Most Distinguished Chapter!

Representatives from the Alpha Zeta Iota Chapter at Northwest Shoals Community College,Phil Campbell, Alabama, receive the coveted Most Distinguished Chapter Award.

Most Distinguished Chapter is the highest honor given to a Phi Theta Kappa chapter. The award was given at the Hallmark Awards Gala during the 2013 Annual Convention in San Jose, California.

The Alpha Zeta Iota Chapter also received a Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award and a Distinguished Chapter Award. In addition, the chapter received a Distinguished Honors in Action Issue Award for Issue Three of the Honors Study Topic: Too Big to Fail: Competition and Economics. Chapter advisors are Rachel Trapp and Nora Lee.

To be considered for a Distinguished Chapter Award, a chapter must submit entries for both the Honors in Action Project Award and the College Project Award. The top 10 percent of chapters submitting award entries in both categories will be recognized as Distinguished Chapters.

The nine finalists for Most Distinguished Chapter were:

First Finalist: Omicron Beta, Mesa Community College, Mesa, Arizona

Second Finalist: Sigma Lambda, Calhoun Community College, Tanner, Alabama

Third Finalist: Alpha Psi Tau, Ozarks Technical Community College, Springfield, Missouri

Fourth Finalist: Alpha Omicron, Tyler Junior College, Tyler, Texas

Fifth Finalist: Alpha Lambda Xi, Lone Star College-Kingwood, The Woodlands, Texas

Sixth Finalist: Beta Zeta Nu, Cañada College, Redwood City, California

Seventh Finalist: Psi Epsilon, Northeast Alabama Community College, Rainsville, Alabama

Eighth Finalist: Kappa Alpha, Holmes Community College, Goodman, Mississippi

Ninth Finalist: Eta Nu, St. Petersburg College, St. Petersburg, Florida

Recommended Posts