Twenty-One College Presidents Receive Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction

Jackson, MS – Twenty-one college presidents/campus CEOs received 2013 Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction at Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Jose, April 4-6.

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Dr. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.

The recipients of the Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction for 2013 are:

Dr. Johnny Allen, President, Northeast Mississippi Community College, Mississippi

Dr. John Avendano, President, Kankakee Community College, Illinois

Dr. Virginia Carson, President, South Georgia College, Georgia

Dr. Catherine Chew, President, Craven Community College, North Carolina

Mr. Andrew Dorsey, President, Front Range Community College, Colorado

Dr. Tahita Fulkerson, Tarrant County College, Texas

Dr. Janice Gilliam, President, Northeast State Community College, Tennessee

Dr. Patricia Granados, President, Triton College, Illinois

Dr. Benda Hellyer, Chancellor, San Jacinto College, Texas

Mr. Thomas Leary, President, Luzerne County Community College, Pennsylvania

Dr. David Levinson, President, Norwalk Community College, Connecticut

Dr. William Lewis, President, Pearl River Community College, Mississippi

Mr. James Lowe, Jr., President, Bishop State Community College, Alabama

Dr. Terry Murrell, President, Western Iowa Tech Community College, Iowa

Dr. Ronnie Nettles, President, Copiah-Lincoln Community College, Mississippi

Dr. Katherine Persson, President, Lone Star College-Kingwood, Texas

Dr. Lee Rasch, President, Western Technical College, Wisconsin

Dr. Mike Richards, President, College of Southern Nevada, Nevada

Dr. Barbara Risser, President, Finger Lakes Community College, New York

Dr. Gregory Smith, President, Central Community College, Nebraska

Dr. Marshall “Sonny” White, President, Midlands Technical College, South Carolina

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts