Ohio Alumna Elected to Alumni Advisory Council, Alumni Awards Presented

Jackson, MS – Connie Myers-Kerr, a student and public relations consultant of Grove City, Ohio, was elected to serve on Phi Theta Kappa’s Alumni Advisory Council during the Society’s 2013 Annual Convention in San Jose April 4-6.

Connie Myers-Kerr

The Alumni Advisory Council is made up of Phi Theta Kappa alumni, both appointed by the Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and elected each year by alumni attending the Annual Convention. Among other duties, AAC members provide advice to Headquarters and the Board of Directors, support the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, and identify ways alumni and associations can best serve the current membership of Phi Theta Kappa.

Myers-Kerr, a former Division I International Vice President, has continued her involvement with Phi Theta Kappa through the Alpha of Ohio Regional Alumni Association, Pi of Texas at Texas A&M University-Commerce, and the Texas Regional Alumni Association. She received a Bachelor of Applied Arts & Sciences in Management from Texas A&M University-Commerce and a Bachelor of Science in Public Relations from Franklin University and is currently pursuing a Master of Arts in Communication from Marist College.

Other current Alumni Advisory Council members for 2012-2013 include Chair Pattie Van Atter, Middle States Alumni Association, and Kenneth Ruemke, Texas Alumni Association. During the Annual Convention, it was announced that Ruemke will assume the role of Chair when Van Atter’s term ends in July 2013.

Van Atter, who also serves as Middle States Regional Coordinator, was presented with the Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award at the Annual Convention. Read more online.

Alumni awards for individuals and chapters were also presented at the Annual Convention, including the Alumni Award of Appreciation, making its debut at the 2013 Annual Convention. These awards provide recognition to Phi Theta Kappa alumni who support the current and future members of the Society. For more information about the award and a complete list of 2013 winners, visit the alumni website. The Award of Merit was presented to the Texas Alumni Association, and the Athens State University Alumni Association of Alabama was recognized as Outstanding University-based Alumni Association.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts