Three Faculty Advisors Receive $15,000 in Professional Development Stipends

Jackson, MS – Professor Velda Arnaud, Business Instructor at Lane Community College in Oregon, has received Phi Theta Kappa’s first Marshall Award, which carries a stipend of $5,000 for personal leadership development. Jane H. Abbott, Director of TRIO/Support Services at Santa Fe Community College in New Mexico and Dr. Cami Bishop, Student Leadership Coordinator at Portland Community College-Sylvania Campus in Oregon, received the 2013 Mosal Awards, also receiving stipends of $5,000 each for personal professional development.

The awards were presented during Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Jose, California, April 4-6.

The newly created Jo Marshall Leadership Award (Marshall Award), announced and presented for the first time at the 2013 Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention, is named in honor of Somerset Community College President Dr. Jo Marshall of Kentucky. She also served as long-time advisor to the Pi Pi Chapter in Alabama and as Alabama Regional Coordinator. Dr. Marshall was one of the first recipients of the Mosal Award and is an International Honorary Member of Phi Theta Kappa. In addition to serving as Leadership Development Certification Program Facilitator, she is also Vice Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Board of Trustees.

The Marshall Award was created to encourage the professional growth of Phi Theta Kappa advisors by providing a $5,000 stipend for the completion of a project that leads to personal leadership growth beyond the completion of professional degrees.

Mosal Awards, named for the Society’s late Executive Director Emeritus, Dr. Margaret Mosal, are presented to faculty advisors with at least five years of service who have submitted project proposals.Only outstanding, well-reasoned and intellectually substantive proposals are selected by a panel of scholars for funding.

Arnaud, who also serves as Phi Theta Kappa’s Rocky Mountain-Cascade Regional Coordinator, was selected as a Marshall Award winner for her project, Leadership Tour: A United States lecture tour to deliver workshops on various leadership topics. Professor Arnaud will deliver workshops on topics such as leading with integrity, bridging the generation gap, professional social networking, and designing a professional development plan.

Abbott was chosen as a Mosal winner for her project proposal, Storytelling in Photographs and Interviews: The Lives of Nepali Women Weavers. She will travel to Nepal to work with Dhaka Weaves, a cooperative that trains disenfranchised women to produce exquisite textiles and consequentially improves their quality of life. Abbott will record their stories and photograph them for a website she will create to help them sell their weavings. The website will provide previously unavailable information about the women to past and potential customers as well as to other interested and relevant parties who will heighten their cultural awareness by learning about the weavers’ ethnicity, their artistry, and their life stories.

Dr. Bishop received a Mosal Award for her project, Bringing Art and Color to Campus: Understanding Renoir’s Inspiration. She will gain inspiration by tracing Pierre-Auguste Renoir’s life’s journey through Paris, Guernsey, Limoges, Madrid, Cagnes-sur-Mer, Florence, and Rome. Inspired by Renior’s life’s journey, Dr. Bishop will study drawing and renew her study of French.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts