Phi Theta Kappa Charters Eight New Chapters in 2013

Jackson, MS – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chartered eight new chapters in seven states and the District of Columbia in 2013.

Charter Members of the new Beta Upsilon Sigma Chapter at Esperanza College of Eastern University in Pennsylvania

To receive an invitation to membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree; must generally have a grade point average of 3.5; and adhere to the standards of the Society.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa may apply for some $37 million in transfer scholarships, provided exclusively to Society members by approximately 750 senior institutions. In addition Phi Theta Kappa offers members numerous opportunities for participation in honors programs, leadership training, and service to their communities.

In order to charter a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a college must be a regionally accredited institution offering associate degree programs.

During 2013, chapters of Phi Theta Kappa were chartered at the following colleges (charter date follows):

Division I:

Strayer University, District of Columbia
Beta Upsilon Psi Chapter
Chartered on November 11, 2013

Esperanza College of Eastern University, Pennsylvania
Beta Upsilon Sigma Chapter
Chartered on November 20, 2013

Division II:

Lone Star College-University Park, Texas
Beta Upsilon Nu Chapter
Chartered on April 16, 2013

J.F. Drake State Technical College, Alabama
Beta Upsilon Xi Chapter
Chartered on April 16, 2013

Polk State College, Florida
Beta Upsilon Upsilon Chapter
Chartered on August 4, 2013

Division III:

Arkansas Tech University
Beta Upsilon Pi Chapter
Chartered on February 13, 1013

Division IV:

University of New Mexico-Taos
Beta Upsilon Iota Chapter
Chartered on April 26, 2013

Bates Technical College, Washington
Beta Upsilon Omicron Chapter
Chartered on February 14, 2013

Headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in the 50 U.S. states, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts