51 New Century Scholars Receive $102,000 in Scholarships

Jackson, MS – Fifty-one community college students from the United States, Canada and American Samoa have been named 2014 New Century Scholars – receiving a total of $102,000 in scholarships. The New Century Scholars Program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.

The New Century Scholars program and the All-USA Community College Academic Team, which is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group and presented by USA TODAY and Phi Theta Kappa, share a common application and together recognize outstanding community college students. More than 1,700 students were nominated from more than 900 community colleges for recognition. Judges consider grades, leadership, activities and, most importantly, how students extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.

New Century Scholars are the highest-scoring students in each state, plus one student from Canada and one additional student chosen from among one of the remaining seven sovereign nations where Phi Theta Kappa is represented internationally. Each scholar will receive a $2,000 scholarship and be presented at the American Association of College Presidents (AACC) Convention in Washington, D.C.

“We appreciate the support of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and the Coca-Cola Foundation to recognize the outstanding academic achievement and leadership accomplishments of these outstanding community college students,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod Risley. “These scholarships provided by organizations like Coca-Cola make the goal of college completion possible – especially during these challenging economic times.”

The 2014 New Century Scholars are:

  • Alabama – Vicente Cortez, Enterprise State Community College
  • Alaska – Tiffiny San Andres, Ilisagvik College
  • American Samoa – Witt Mariner, American Samoa Community College
  • Arizona – Jennifer Brady, Mohave Community College
  • Arkansas – Patricia Esperon, Arkansas State University Mountain Home
  • California – Sarah Farmer, San Diego Mesa College
  • Canada – Stefan Florchuk, Medicine Hat College
  • Colorado – Andrea Seipel, Front Range Community College
  • Connecticut – Serena Giacomin, Gateway Community College
  • Delaware – Michael Griner, Delaware Technical Community College
  • District of Columbia – Izuchukwu Abel, Community College of the District of Columbia
  • Florida – Kayla Duchaine, Eastern Florida State College
  • Georgia – Brooks Mitchell, Darton State College
  • Hawaii – Edward Bufil, Hawaii Community College
  • Idaho – Belinda Reyff, College of Western Idaho
  • Illinois – Julie Crafton, Heartland Community College
  • Indiana – Jessica Troxel, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
  • Iowa – Megan Doubleday, Southwestern Community College
  • Kansas – William Mims, Dodge City Community College
  • Kentucky – Courtney Carpenter, Somerset Community College
  • Louisiana – Stephanie Rogers, Delgado Community College
  • Maine – Jason Glynn, Southern Maine Community College
  • Maryland – Hannah Patarini, Howard Community College
  • Massachusetts – Heather Hilton, Massasoit Community College
  • Michigan – Eric Howard, Muskegon Community College
  • Minnesota – Abigail Harding, Vermilion Community College
  • Mississippi – Zachary Warren, Jones County Junior College
  • Missouri – Shannon Kreutzer, Cottey College
  • Montana – Jackcee Idland, Miles Community College
  • Nebraska – Xavier Shiu, Metropolitan Community College
  • Nevada – Honey Tapley, Western Nevada College
  • New Hampshire – Jane Quigley, NHTI-Concord’s Community College
  • New Jersey – Sofia Medina, Essex County College
  • New Mexico – Robert Gonzales, Eastern New Mexico University-Ruidoso
  • New York – Laura DeNardo, Jefferson Community College
  • North Carolina – Joseph Burch, Central Piedmont Community College
  • North Dakota – Jayme Pischel, Bismarck State College
  • Ohio – Maksym Gerasimov, Sinclair Community College
  • Oklahoma – Kelsey Williams, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College
  • Oregon – Sule Whitlock, Mt. Hood Community College
  • Pennsylvania – Caitlin Brown, Lehigh Carbon Community College
  • Rhode Island – Anthony Pierno, Community College of Rhode Island
  • South Carolina – Gabriela Trejo, Florence-Darlington Technical College
  • Tennessee – Olivia Orten, Northeast Community College
  • Texas – Michelle Davis, Collin College
  • Vermont – James Stockwell, Landmark College
  • Virginia – Amanda Harbison, Northern Virginia Community College
  • Washington – Nicklaus Madison, Renton Technical College
  • West Virginia – Lorraine Klover, Mountwest Community & Technical College
  • Wisconsin – Makiko Omori, Madison Area Technical College
  • Wyoming – Caitlin Heryford, Central Wyoming College

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts