Phi Theta Kappa Presents Guistwhite Scholars with $100,000 in Scholarships

JACKSON, MS – Twenty Phi Theta Kappa members have been selected as 2014 Guistwhite Scholarship recipients and will be recognized and invited to a special reception during NerdNation 2014, Phi Theta Kappa’s annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 24-26. Each year $100,000 in scholarship funds are awarded, with each Guistwhite Scholar receiving a $5,000 scholarship for baccalaureate studies and a commemorative medallion.

Guistwhite Scholars are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership accomplishment and engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs. The 20 recipients for 2014 were selected by a panel of independent judges from more than 1,700 applicants to receive this scholarship, the second highest offered by Phi Theta Kappa.

The Guistwhite Scholarship Program is named in honor of the late Dr. Jack Guistwhite and his widow, Margaret Guistwhite. Dr. Guistwhite established the first designated transfer scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa members at Florida Atlantic University in 1975. The Guistwhite Scholarships were established by Phi Theta Kappa in 1992.

“Dr. Jack Guistwhite planted a seed in 1975 that resulted in more than 750 colleges and universities designating transfer scholarships for thousands of Phi Theta Kappa members,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod A. Risley. “It is fitting that we continue to honor our students who excel in scholarship and leadership in Phi Theta Kappa as Guistwhite Scholars in memory of Jack and in honor of his wife Margaret. Through their generosity and those who support scholarships through the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, these students will receive funds to help them complete their degrees.”

The 2014 Guistwhite Scholars are:

Lilliam Acosta, Collin College, Texas

Kayla Duchaine, Eastern Florida State College, Florida

Noah Griffin, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas

Matthew Jordan, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas

Michelle Kemeny, Mesa Community College, Arizona

Aline Kraus, Central Arizona College, Arizona

Kyu Hee Lee, Northern Virginia Community College, Virginia

Urbano Lino, Tyler Junior College, Texas

Keari Little, SUNY Mohawk Valley Community College, New York

Jill Loffert, Allegany College of Maryland, Maryland

Sofia Medina, Essex County College, New Jersey

Brooks Mitchell, Darton State College, Georgia

Tina Nguyen, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Mississippi

Maureen Njuguna, Mt. San Jacinto College, California

Makiko Omori, Madison Area Technical College, Wisconsin

Maria Del Carmen Orduna, North Lake College, Texas

Rebecca Sepaugh, East Mississippi Community College, Mississippi

Juanita “JD” Spencer, Clatsop Community College, Oregon

Michelle Truong, Darton State College, Georgia

Isaac Ward, SUNY Broome Community College, New York

The Phi Theta Kappa Foundation is focused on long-term financial stability for Phi Theta Kappa. It is dependent upon the generosity of individuals, organizations, foundations and corporations to ensure its future through the support of existing and the establishment of new endowment funds. For more information on how to contribute to scholarships for Phi Theta Kappa members through the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, contact Dr. Rieves at 800.946.9995, ext. 3537.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts