Phi Theta Kappa Announces 2015 Faculty Scholars

Twenty-eight Phi Theta Kappa chapter advisors have been selected from among nearly 3,000 of their peers to serve as 2015 Faculty Scholars. The scholars were selected through a rigorous application process based on knowledge of the 2014/2015 Honors Study Topic, Frontiers and the Spirit of Exploration, and demonstrated excellence in teaching or administration.

In addition to the strength of their applications, the selection committee also considered where the applicant lives, the Phi Theta Kappa division in which they advise, the teaching or professional discipline and the variety in terms of the number of years the applicant has served as a chapter advisor. The result is a strong, diverse group of Faculty Scholars.

“We congratulate them for being selected to serve and for their willingness and desire to surpass the traditional duties of an advisor by contributing in this manner,” said Susan Edwards, Phi Theta Kappa’s Dean of Academic Affairs and Honors Programs.

Among those selected as Faculty Scholars are eight advisors who were chosen to serve on Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Program Council. Members of the council serve four-year terms and help assess the Society’s honors programming. They will also be charged with developing the 2016/2017 Honors Study Topic.

The 2015 Faculty Scholars, along with their community college, state and academic field, are

Matt Boehm
Jefferson State Community College, Alabama

Michele Daniels
Kilgore College, Texas
Speech Communication

Steve Fritts
Ozarks Technical and Community College, Missouri
American Sign Language/Counseling

Jo Fritts
Ozarks Technical and Community College, Missouri
Honors Program Council

Dr. Patty Hall
Cañada College, California
Early Childhood Education

Margo Hamm
Somerset Community College, Kentucky
Library Science
Honors Program Council

Amanda Lilgreen
Normandale Community College, Minnesota
Student Life

Jeanette Milius
Iowa Western Community College, Iowa

Charles Myrick
Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma

Dr. Sarah Nichols
Hinds Community College – Vicksburg, Mississippi

Dr. Michael Odu
Hillsborough Community College, Florida

Kevin Parrett
Elizabethtown Community & Technical College, Kentucky
Physical Sciences

Jacklyn Pierce
Lake-Sumter State College, Florida

Cassandra Powell
Richard J. Daley College, Illinois

Margaret Ann Reed
Northern Virginia Community College, Virginia

Christina Robinson
Sullivan University, Kentucky
Student Life

Lori Roe
Ivy Tech Community College – Warsaw, Indiana

Glenn Rohlfing
Pikes Peak Community College, Colorado
Honors Program Council

Dr. Sauda Smith
H. Lavity Stoutt Community College, British Virgin Islands
Honors Program Council

Christine Solomon
Trident Technical College, South Carolina
Honors Program Council

Annette Spurgeon
Ivy Tech Community College – Bloomington, Indiana
Educational Leadership

Dr. Mitch Stimers
Cloud County Community College, Kansas

Dr. Cassander Titley-O’Neal
H. Lavity Stoutt Community College, British Virgin Islands

Dr. Melissa Weinbrenner
Northeast Texas Community College, Texas
Honors Program Council

Teresa Wells
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Mississippi

Dr. Johannah Williams
Hinds Community College – Raymond, Mississippi
Computer Science
Honors Program Council

Jon Wood
Ridgewater College, Minnesota

Lisa York
Asheville-Buncombe Community & Technical College, North Carolina
Honors Program Council

Dr. Mitch Stimers is the 2015 Parnell Scholar. This scholarship is awarded to a Faculty Scholar who has never before participated in NerdNation or Honors Institute and whose application is judged outstanding by the Faculty Scholar Selection Committee. Stimers’ registration, airfare and hotel for NerdNation 2015 will be covered.

The group will attend the annual Faculty Scholar Conference at Phi Theta Kappa’s Center for Excellence in Jackson, Mississippi, January 29-February 1. They will study the 2014/2015 Honors Study Topic and prepare to serve as discussion facilitators for the 2015 Honors Institute at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque.

During Honors Institute, the Faculty Scholars will lead groups of 15 to 20 honor students in seminar discussions of the issues presented by experts on the Honors Study Topic throughout the week. A second Faculty Scholar Conference will be held in the days leading up to Honors Institute.

“The Faculty Scholar Conference is recognized internationally as one of the finest professional development programs available for community college faculty members,” said Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod Risley. “Intense training is provided by nationally recognized scholars to prepare the Faculty Scholars to serve as facilitators for Honors Institute, which is attended by approximately 450 Phi Theta Kappa members and chapter advisors from around the world and praised as the crown jewel of honors programming experiences.’ “

Recommended Posts