Guistwhite Scholars Awarded 75,000 in Scholarships

Jackson, Mississippi – Fifteen Phi Theta Kappa members have been selected as 2015 Guistwhite Scholarship recipients and will be honored at a special reception during Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas, April 16-18. Each year $75,000 in scholarship funds are awarded, with each Guistwhite Scholar receiving a $5,000 scholarship for baccalaureate studies and a commemorative medallion.

Guistwhite Scholars are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership accomplishment and engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs. The 15 recipients for 2015 were selected by a panel of independent judges from more than 1,700 applicants to receive this scholarship, the second highest offered by Phi Theta Kappa.

The Guistwhite Scholar Program is named in honor of the late Dr. Jack Guistwhite and his widow, Margaret Guistwhite. Guistwhite established the first designated transfer scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa members at Florida Atlantic University in 1975. The Guistwhite Scholarships were established by Phi Theta Kappa in 1992.

“Dr. Jack Guistwhite planted a seed in 1975 that resulted in more than 750 colleges and universities designating transfer scholarships for thousands of Phi Theta Kappa members,” said Phi Theta Kappa Foundation CEO Dr. Nancy Rieves. “It is fitting that we continue to honor our students who excel in scholarship and leadership in Phi Theta Kappa as Guistwhite Scholars in memory of Jack and in honor of his wife Margaret. Through their generosity and those who support scholarships through the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, these students will receive funds to help them complete their degrees.”

The 2015 Guistwhite Scholars are:

Pelkins Ajanoh, Tarrant County College, Texas

Vernell Brown, Delaware Technical Community College, Delaware

Kayleah Cumpian, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas

Brianna DiSanza, Germanna Community College, Virginia

Tiernan Ebener, Illinois Valley Community College, Illinois

Caroline France, Greenville Technical College, South Carolina

Alina Ghulam Rasool, Cottey College, Missouri

Michael Ippoliti, Burlington County College, New Jersey

Deanna Keller, Lake Superior College, Minnesota

Valerie Le Grande, Mesa Community College, Arizona

Richard Matthews, Texas State Technical College, Texas

Eric Mueller, Independence Community College, Kansas

Janel Orton, Southeastern Community College, Iowa

Heba Ramadan, Lone Star College, Texas

Sarah Taha, San Diego Mesa College, California

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts