Twenty-three College Presidents Receive Shirley B. Gordon Awards

San Antonio, Texas – Twenty-three college presidents/campus CEOs received 2015 Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction at NerdNation, Phi Theta Kappa’s 97th Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas, April 16-18.

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa. The award is named for the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Washington. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.

Nominees should have served as president at least five years at the current institution as of December 4, 2014, and must attend the Phi Theta Kappa annual convention to receive the award. The recipients of the Shirley B. Gordon Awards of Distinction for 2015 are:

Dr. Walter Bartlett
Piedmont Community College
Roxboro, North Carolina

Kevin Bostic
Ivy Tech Community College
Logansport, Indiana

Dr. Duane Dunn
Seward County Community College
Liberal, Kansas

Dr. John Erwin
Illinois Central College
East Peoria, Illinois

Robert Ferrentino
Montcalm Community College
Sidney, Michigan

Dr. Matthew Gotschall
Central Community College
Columbus, Nebraska

Pamella Guthrie
Ivy Tech Community College
Wabash, Indiana

Sandy Handfield
Eastern Florida State College
Melbourne, Florida

Dr. C. Michele Haney
Red Rocks Community College
Lakewood, Colorado

James Jacobs
Macomb Community College
Warren, Michigan

Dr. Brad Johnson
Northeast Texas Community College
Mount Pleasant, Texas

Dr. Anne Kress
Monroe Community College
Rochester, New York

Dr. Michael Lanser
Lakeshore Technical College
Cleveland, Wisconsin

Dr. Alice V. Letteney
University of New Mexico-Valencia Campus
Los Lunas, New Mexico

Dr. Gail Mellow
LaGuardia Community College
Long Island City, New York

Dr. Geraldine Perri
Citrus College
Glendora, California

Dr. Larry Phillips
Angelina College
Lufkin, Texas

Dr. Herbert Riedel
Lurleen B. Wallace Community College
Andalusia, Alabama

Dr. Karen Stout
Montgomery County Community College
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania

Dr. Linda Thomas-Glover
Eastern Shore Community College
Melfa, Virginia

Darlene Wedler-Johnson
State College of Florida
Venice, Florida

Dr. Lori Weyers
Northcentral Technical College
Wausau, Wisconsin

Dr. Laurel Williamson
San Jacinto College
Pasadena, Texas

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts