Alumni Members/Associations Recognized, AAC Representative Elected at NerdNation

Jackson, Mississippi – Alumni awards for individuals and chapters were presented at NerdNation 2015, Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas, April 16-18.

2015 Alumni Award of Appreciation recipients

The Alumni Association Award of Merit was presented to the Texas Region Alumni.

Barbara Wolf Ebert

Kenneth Ruemke, an alumnus of the Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter at Lone Star College-North Harris in Texas, received the Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award and presented the keynote address during the Alumni Gratitude Banquet.

In addition, Barbara Wolf Ebert was elected as a member of the Society’s Alumni Advisory Council during the annual Alumni Business Meeting at NerdNation.

An alumna of the Omega Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Houston Community College, Ebert served as Southern Vice President in 2000 and is currently an active member of the Virginia/West Virginia Alumni Association.

“Phi Theta Kappa taught me to take on big challenges and succeed,” Ebert said. “As an alumna, I want to encourage and help show students how they can do the same.”

Multiple individual and association alumni awards were also presented at the Alumni Gratitude Banquet on April 18.

Alumni Association Awards recognize alumni associations that have been exemplary in the support of Phi Theta Kappa and its members. The 2015 winners are:

Outstanding Regional Alumni Association – Texas Region Alumni Association

Outstanding University-Based Alumni Association Award – Athens State University Alumni Association (Alabama)

Outstanding Community-Based Alumni Association Award – Alpha Gamma Pi Alumni Association (Texas)

The Alumni Association Award of Merit, which honors an alumni association that has been exemplary in providing support for two-year chapters, was presented to the Texas Regional Alumni Association.

The Alumni Awards of Appreciation provide recognition to Phi Theta Kappa alumni who support the current and future members of the Society. The 2015 winners are:

Amanda Belanger, nominated by the New England Region

Christina Boyce, nominated by the Illinois Region

Roy Campbell, nominated by Alpha Rho Gamma Chapter, Ohio Region

Rhonda Cantu, nominated by Alpha Upsilon Lambda Chapter, Indiana Region

Lucus Drake, nominated by the Kansas Region

Debbra Esparza, nominated by the Texas Region

Julie Gore, nominated by Beta Theta Xi Chapter, Iowa Region

Dr. Molly Harris, nominated by the Texas Region

Matthew Jordan, nominated by Alpha Mu Chi Chapter, Texas Region

Julie Larkin, nominated by Alpha Upsilon Alpha Chapter, New England Region

George Melchor, Jr., nominated by Omicron Psi Chapter, Texas Region

Courtney Rice, nominated by Alpha Delta Mu Chapter, Middle States Region

Michael Shoemaker, nominated by Alpha Nu Omega Chapter, Middle States Region

Jason Stover, nominated by Alpha Upsilon Lambda Chapter, Indiana Region

Curtis Todd, nominated by Beta Beta Tau Chapter, Georgia Region

Kelly Unterborn, nominated by Nu Pi Chapter, Ohio Region

Shawn Van Horn, nominated by Beta Alpha Chi Chapter, Tennessee Region

Brianna Weir, nominated by Alpha Psi Rho, Ohio Region

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts