Members to be Published in Nota Bene, Receive $2,500 in Scholarships

Literary works from 28 Phi Theta Kappa members have been chosen from approximately 750 entries for publication in the 2015 edition of Nota Bene, the Society’s honors anthology. Authors of the four most outstanding entries received $2,500 in scholarships.

Caitlin Vander Meulen from Grand Rapids Community College in Michigan received the Nell Ewing Citation Award of $1,000 for best entry in Phi Theta Kappa’s annual Nota Bene literary competition for her short story, “Liars & Thieves.” She is working toward a degree in English and hopes to earn a master’s degree in creative writing.

“I wasn’t able to attend college right after high school, so deciding to go back to school after being married has been difficult financially,” she said. “The Nota Bene scholarship will help me make the last stretch for my associate degree, and then I can transfer to a four-year school. I have always loved writing, and having the opportunity to work on my craft while getting an education has been an immense blessing.”

Three members also received Reynolds Scholarships of $500 each for submitting works deemed outstanding. They are Sheri Lopez from the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos in New Mexico, Eugene Ahn from the Community College of Aurora in Colorado and Justin Wood from Kalamazoo Valley Community College in Michigan.

Nota Bene was founded in 1994 to showcase exceptional writing among community college students. Copies of Nota Bene are distributed to all community college libraries and to Phi Theta Kappa leaders. Since the establishment of the journal and the scholarship program, $63,000 in scholarships have been presented to Phi Theta Kappa members, and more than 300 students have had their work published. Entries for the 2016 Nota Bene competition are due April 1, 2016.

Winners of the 2015 Nota Bene scholarships are

Ewing Citation Scholarship of $1,000, for the Best Overall Entry:
“Liars & Thieves” – Short Story
Caitlin Vander Meulen
Grand Rapids Community College, Michigan

Reynolds Awards of $500 each:
“Mi Santa Abuelita” – Poem
Sheri Lopez
University of New Mexico-Los Alamos, New Mexico

“Celestial Frontiers” – Research Paper
Eugene Ahn
Community College of Aurora, Colorado

“The Power of Steam” – Essay
Justin Wood
Kalamazoo Valley Community College, Michigan

The following students had their work selected for publication:

Research Papers
“Socio-economic Inequality and its Effects on Opportunities for Higher Education in the United States”
Cody Tharaldsen
Wake Technical Community College, North Carolina

“Marketing for a Healthier Society”
Tessa Enns
Normandale Community College, Minnesota

“A Broken System”
Elijah Evans
Southwest Texas Junior College, Texas

“Lessons from The Lorax
Christopher Miller
Fayetteville Technical College, North Carolina

“Does Correlation Imply Causation?”
Jason Glynn
Southern Maine Community College, Maine

Short Stories
“The Life of Poe Gabriel”
Andrea Gabriel
Skyline College, California

“A Meal for the Weary”
Joshua Plack
Wor-Wic Community College, Maryland

“Eternity Spot”
Ariel Messerer
Ozarks Technical Community College, Missouri

Brandon Johnson
John Tyler Community College, Virginia

“How to Thank Your Hero”
Kelly Botoulas
Horry Georgetown Technical College, South Carolina

“Natural Observations”
Ashlea Kennedy
Eastern Gateway Community College, Ohio

“I, in the Hall of My Ancestors”
Teresa Lane
Walters State Community College, Tennessee

“Genesis of the Perfect Poem”
Joseph Measel
Austin Community College, Texas

“The Gas Chambers”
Olivia Pagan
Rowan College at Gloucester County, New Jersey

“Eliot Said April is the Cruelest Month…”
Rhiannon Martin
Butler County Community College, Pennsylvania

“Burst of Brilliance”
Nick Allen
Howard Community College, Maryland

“Nights Like These”
Nick Allen
Howard Community College, Maryland

“Behind the Beguiling Eyes of a Broken Wife”
Lauren Passmore
Bevill State Community College, Alabama

“Sounds of Silence”
Christine Grant
Manchester Community College, Connecticut

“Snow Waves”
Christine Grant
Manchester Community College, Connecticut

“Playing Beethoven heartbroken”
Nancy Mantick
Ivy Tech Community College, Indiana

“Farm Boy”
Nancy Mantick
Ivy Tech Community College, Indiana

“To Tell About It”
Sarah Myers
St. Charles Community College, Missouri

“That Place”
Elizabeth Enos
Montcalm Community College, Michigan

“Are You Still There?”
Elizabeth Enos
Montcalm Community College, Michigan

“My Grandma’s Teeth”
Justin Jones
Georgia Highlands College, Georgia

Corey Hankinson
Corning Community College, New York

Rachael O’Neill
SAIT Polytechnic, Alberta, Canada

Teresa Lane
Walters State Community College, Tennessee

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territorial possessions and eight sovereign nations. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts