Phi Theta Kappa Charters 10 New Chapters and Alumni Associations in 2015

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Jackson, MS – Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chartered seven new chapters and three new alumni associations in seven states in 2015, including the organization’s seventh chapter in Alaska.

The Beta Phi Xi Chapter (pictured right) at the University of Alaska Southeast-Sitka Campus was chartered on November 19, Phi Theta Kappa’s Founders Day. Michaelann Allen, Associate Regional Coordinator for Phi Theta Kappa’s Greater Northwest Region, was the chartering representative. Christopher Washko and Dr. Math Trafton will serve as the chapter advisors.

In order to charter a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a college must be a regionally accredited institution offering associate degree programs. Alumni Associations support the local chapters of Phi Theta Kappa.

During 2015 chapters of Phi Theta Kappa were chartered at the following colleges (charter date follows):

  • Beta Phi Eta Chapter, Barton County Community College-Ft. Leavenworth Campus, Kansas (March 4)
  • Beta Tau Rho Chapter, Fletcher Technical Community College-Schriever Campus, Louisiana (March 18)
  • Beta Phi Zeta Chapter, Northshore Technical Community College-Sullivan Campus, Louisiana (April 24)
  • Beta Upsilon Kappa Chapter, Manhattan Area Technical College-Manhattan Campus, Kansas (April 29)
  • Beta Phi Beta Chapter, Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences-Lancaster Campus, Pennsylvania (May 11)
  • Beta Phi Kappa Chapter, Kaplan University-Online Campus, Chicago, Illinois (June 23)
  • Beta Phi Xi Chapter, University of Alaska Southeast-Sitka, Alaska (November 19)
  • Cedar Valley College Alumni Association, Cedar Valley College, Texas (April 13)
  • Alpha Nu Omega Alumni Association, Harrisburg Area Community College-Harrisburg Campus, Pennsylvania (April 22)
  • Alpha Xi Pi Alumni Association, Motlow State Community College-Moore County Campus, Tennessee (June 15)

To receive an invitation to membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree, must generally have a grade point average of 3.5; and must adhere to the standards of the Society.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa may apply for some $37 million in transfer scholarships, provided exclusively to Society members by approximately 750 senior institutions. In addition Phi Theta Kappa offers members numerous opportunities for participation in honors programs, leadership training, and service to their communities. Headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in higher education, with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in the 50 U.S. states, eight sovereign nations and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 inducted annually.

Recommended Posts