Boggs, Van Atter Elected to Board of Directors Offices

Jackson, Mississippi – Dr. George Boggs, President and CEO Emeritus of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), and Middle States Regional Coordinator Pattie Van Atter were elected as Chair and Vice Chair, respectively, of Phi Theta Kappa’s Board of Directors during the Board’s most recent meeting held in Jackson, Mississippi, on January 23. According to Phi Theta Kappa’s bylaws, a Chair and Vice Chair are elected annually.

Boggs served as President and CEO of AACC from 2000 to 2010 and has served as Vice Chair of Phi Theta Kappa’s Board of Directors since 2006. He was a founding faculty member, division chair and associate dean of instruction at Butte College in California and, for over 15 years, was the Superintendent/President of Palomar College in California. Boggs also holds the title of Superintendent/President Emeritus of Palomar College.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from The Ohio State University, a master’s degree in chemistry from the University of California at Santa Barbara, and a Ph.D. in educational administration from The University of Texas at Austin. Boggs is an International Honorary Member of Phi Theta Kappa and also serves as Vice Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Board of Trustees.

“Phi Theta Kappa has recognized the achievements of community college students and provided opportunities for their growth for nearly 100 years,” Boggs said. “I am proud to be a part of this great organization and look forward to carrying its legacy of excellence into the next century.”

Van Atter was inducted into the Alpha Psi Pi Chapter at Gloucester County College in New Jersey in 1998, where she served as a chapter officer and was named a member of the All-New Jersey Academic Team. Van Atter attended Temple University on a Phi Theta Kappa scholarship and completed a bachelor’s degree in early childhood, special education and elementary education. She currently serves as Coordinator of Instructional and Support Services at Delaware Technical Community College.

A charter member of the award-winning Middle States Regional Alumni Association, Van Atter was elected president in 2003. She served on the Society’s Alumni Advisory Council and was named Middle States Regional Coordinator in 2012. In 2013 Van Atter received the Board of Directors Alumni Achievement Award and has served on the Board of Directors since 2015.

“I am honored to have an opportunity to serve as a part of the organization’s leadership team,” Van Atter said. “As a student who reaped the rewards of membership in Phi Theta Kappa, I remain committed to making decisions that support the mission and members of the Society.”

Phi Theta Kappa, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territorial possessions and eight sovereign nations. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts