Faculty Scholar Scholarships Presented to Tennessee, Texas Advisors

Jackson, MississippiKaren McCall Dale, an associate professor of music at Cleveland State Community College in Tennessee, and Dr. Rebecca Tate, an English professor at Lone Star College-Tomball in Texas, received professional development scholarships during Phi Theta Kappa’s Faculty Scholar Conference held in Jackson, Mississippi, January 28-29.

Thirty chapter advisors are selected by application to attend the Faculty Scholar Conference and serve as seminar group leaders for Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors Institute. The 2016 Honors Institute will be held at Wake Forest University in North Carolina, June 20-25. Both Dale and Tate are first-time Faculty Scholars.

Dale received the Parnell Scholarship, which covers registration expenses for a Faculty Scholar who has not previously attended NerdNation, Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention, or Honors Institute. The scholarship is given in honor of former American Association of Community Colleges President and Phi Theta Kappa Board Member Dr. Dale Parnell. Jennifer Stanford, Phi Theta Kappa’s Chief Student Engagement Officer, and Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner presented Dale with the Parnell Scholarship.

Tate received the Mayfield Advisor Leadership Development Scholarship, awarded annually to the advisor with the strongest Faculty Scholar application who has not been previously certified in the Leadership Development Studies Program and who is not eligible for the Parnell Scholarship. The scholarship covers full tuition costs for an Instructor Certification Seminar during the present year or the next year, a value of more than $1,600.

Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Executive Director of the Mississippi Community College Board and a former community college administrator, provides funding for the Advisor Leadership Development Scholarship. Mayfield became a certified instructor of the Leadership Development Studies Program in 2002.

The Mayfield Advisor Leadership Development Scholarship was presented to Tate by Phi Theta Kappa Foundation CEO Dr. Nancy Rieves, Mayfield and Tincher-Ladner.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories and eight sovereign nations. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts