51 Certified to Teach PTK’s Leadership Program

Duane Oakes has seen an increasing need to teach leadership to college students, so he created a new leadership course to be taught this fall to honors students at Mesa Community College (MCC) in Arizona. To hone his own leadership skills, he came to Phi Theta Kappa’s Leadership Development Program (LDP) Instructor Certification Seminar.

“I think the most important thing we should be doing as Phi Theta Kappa advisors is teaching our students the leadership skills they need to become leaders in their communities,” he said. “We can teach them academic disciplines, but if we also teach them skills to impact their societies, then we really succeed.”

Fifty-one people attended instructor certification seminars in July at the Center for Excellence in Jackson, Mississippi, qualifying them to teach PTK’s Leadership Development Studies curriculum on their campuses. The program uses great leaders portrayed in books, films, and history to guide students through the development of their own leadership philosophies.

The W.K. Kellogg Foundation has recognized the program as one of only eight exemplary leadership development programs in higher education.

“The skills, knowledge, and experience I’ve gained have me very excited to teach the class,” Duane said. “It has renewed my sense of the importance of leadership.”

He typically teaches courses on volunteerism in his role as Faculty Director for the Center for Community and Civic Engagement at MCC, giving students service learning experiences. He sees the new honors class as a way expand on the importance of this — and to tell more high-achieving students about Phi Theta Kappa.

And, the seminar was his first opportunity in his 20-plus years as advisor to the Omicron Beta Chapter to visit PTK Headquarters.

“It reinvigorated the importance of Phi Theta Kappa for me,” Duane said. “I think it should be offered at Headquarters every year, and I think every advisor should take advantage of this opportunity.”

Two certification seminars were held in July. The 2017 certified faculty members are:

Seminar held July 10-13

Paul Belue, College of Western Idaho, Idaho
Dr. Parvathy Bhooshanan, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
Madelyn Bowman, Tarrant County College, Texas
Phyllis Brewer, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
Cassie Bruner, Brazosport College, Texas
Dana Burton, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
Dr. Sheila Byrd, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
Terri Easley-Giraldo, Johnson County Community College, Kansas
Dr. H. Jessica Hargis, Collin College, Texas
Mareta Iosia-Sizemore, Palm Beach State College, Florida
Luanne Johnson, Lane Community College, Oregon
Amy Laughter, Augusta Technical College, Georgia
Robin Lowe, Itawamba Community College, Mississippi
DeLinda Martin-Huggins, Portland Community College, Oregon
Mike McCloskey, Delaware Technical Community College, Delaware
Marcella Montesinos, Palm Beach State College, Florida
Necia Nicholas, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
Duane Oakes, Mesa Community College, Arizona
Dr. Dennis Rittle, Cowley College, Kansas
Kim Russell, Delgado Community College, Louisiana
Janet Samuels, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota, Florida
Sarah Scott, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Canada
Julie Sneed, Calhoun Community College, Alabama
LaVitta Williams, Tarrant County College, Texas

Seminar held July 20-23

Julie Atwood, Jones County Junior College, Mississippi
Robert Brandon, Cleveland State Community College, Tennessee
Dr. Victoria Bryan, Cleveland State Community College, Tennessee
Karen Dale, Cleveland State Community College, Tennessee
Lucy Ferguson, Meridian Community College, Mississippi
Amy Fleming, Northshore Technical Community College, Louisiana
Jennifer Gasparino, Passaic County Community College, New Jersey
Linda Gronberg-Quinn, Community College of Baltimore County, Maryland
Tamika Harrel, Coffeyville Community College, Kansas
Janine Harris, Guttman Community College, New York
Randy Hines, Waubonsee Community College, Illinois
Allison Horseman, Somerset Community College, Kentucky
Dr. Connie Huber, Southern State Community College, Ohio
Dr. Sarah Iepson, Community College of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
James Johnson, Pearl River Community College, Mississippi
Vicky Knickerbocker, Inver Hills Community College, Minnesota
Ryan Martin, Paradise Valley Community College, Arizona
Gwen Matuszewski, Jones County Junior College, Mississippi
Dr. Suzette Overby, Riverland Community College, Minnesota
Heather Owen, Lurleen B. Wallace Community College, Alabama
Lupita Ramierz, Coastal Bend College, Texas
Heidi Schara, Riverland Community College, Minnesota
Dr. Michael Shell, Jefferson Community & Technical College, Kentucky
Mina Sommerville-Thompson, Tarrant County College, Texas
Jennifer St. Pierre, Harrisburg Area Community College, Pennsylvania
Dr. Annie Tuttle, Onondaga Community College, New York
Amanda Waterstrat, Somerset Community College, Kentucky

Recommended Posts