Board of Directors

The Board of Directors governs all policies of Phi Theta Kappa and ensures that the Society's mission to nurture academic excellence among community college students is reflected in all Society programs and endeavors.The Board consists of the Executive Director, a community college administrator, a faculty advisor, a regional coordinator, an alumnus, an international honorary member and an Executive Committee representative.

The Executive Director serves as the ex-officio member and coordinates the Society's support systems, maintains the integrity of existing programs, and establishes priorities for growth and development. The Executive Committee representative, an International Officer, is elected to the Board at the annual winter Board meeting for a term of one year and attends the spring meeting held during the Annual Convention. Following installation of the newly elected International Officers at Convention, the International President serves as the Interim Student Representative to the Board in the event a meeting is called prior to the Annual Board meeting held each January. Selection of the student representative is made in late November based on the Officer's progress made during the year. Staff makes a recommendation to the Board who then votes to approve the selection. The members of the Board elect a Chair and a Vice Chair, and the Executive Director serves as Board Secretary. The remaining Board members serve three-year staggered terms.

Everett C. 'Kip' Johnson
  • Everett C. "Kip" Johnson
  • Chair
  • Attorney at Law
  • Latham & Watkins
  • Washington, D.C.
Dr. George Boggs
  • Dr. George Boggs
  • Vice Chair
  • Immediate Past-President and CEO
  • American Association of Community Colleges
  • Washington, D.C.
Dr. Michael Odu
  • Dr. Michael Odu
  • Chapter Advisor Representative
  • Hillsborough Community College
  • Tampa, Florida
Cindy Carbone
  • Cindy Carbone
  • Regional Coordinator Representative
  • Oakland Community College
  • Royal Oak, Michigan
Dr. Walter Bumphus
  • Dr. Walter Bumphus
  • President/CEO
  • American Association of Community Colleges
  • Washington, D.C.
Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner
  • Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner
  • Ex-Officio, Secretary
  • Acting Executive Director
  • Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
  • Jackson, Mississippi
Yanik Etan
  • Yanik Etan
  • International President
  • Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society
  • Jackson, Mississippi