Posted on March 21st in General

$75,000 Awarded to 2019 Hites Scholars

Ten Phi Theta Kappa members have been named 2019 Hites Scholars and will each receive a $7,500 scholarship for baccalaureate studies.

The 2019 Hites Scholars are:

  • Orion Barber, Broome Community College, New York
  • Alejandro Garcia, Miami Dade College, Florida
  • Lillyan Haack, Northeast Texas Community College, Texas
  • Michelle Huang, Skyline College, California
  • Kirubel Moges, Richland College, Texas
  • Abderahim Salhi, Hudson County Community College, New Jersey
  • Philippe Schicker, Citrus College, California
  • Samiha Wafi Sharif, Collin College, Texas
  • Surbhi Sharma, Community College of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania
  • Amy Yager, Des Moines Area Community College, Iowa

The Hites Transfer Scholarship is awarded to Phi Theta Kappa members who are preparing to transfer to a bachelor’s degree-granting college or university. Winners were selected from among 2,800 applicants nationwide for their outstanding academic achievement and rigor, leadership accomplishments, and engagement in college and community activities.

The Hites Transfer Scholarship Program is made possible by support from the Hites Family Foundation and the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation. This is the largest scholarship Phi Theta Kappa awards to its members.

The Hites Family Foundation was established by Robert Hites, an executive with Ralston-Purina in St. Louis, Missouri. Upon his retirement, he became an instructor at St. Louis Community College. His brother, Ray Hites, served as President of the Hites Family Foundation and as a Trustee for the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation until his death in 2015. Ray’s wife, Jackie, now serves as a Foundation Board Trustee.

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa