Posted on December 12th in News

Phi Theta Kappa Names 2020 Faculty Scholars

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) has selected 30 of its chapter advisors and alumni to serve as Faculty Scholars and lead discussion groups during the organization’s 2020 summer conference.

Faculty Scholars are key figures at Honors Institute, PTK’s annual weeklong honors conference, as they lead small groups of the attendees in discussions about presentations by keynote speakers. Each speaker is an expert on an idea related to PTK’s Honors Study Topic, the focus of the organization’s honors program.

“Honors Institute sets the stage for many of our chapters to begin their honors projects, which is where some of the deepest benefits of PTK membership come into play,” said Dr. Blake Ellis, PTK’s Vice President of Student Engagement. “The guidance Faculty Scholars give can be the first step in igniting a student’s passion, getting them involved, and setting them on a course to gain leadership experience and develop soft skills.”

Phi Theta Kappa’s honors program guides chapters in a research-based, action-oriented project on their campuses and in their communities. The timely, interdisciplinary topic is developed biannually by a group of volunteer chapter advisors known as the Honors Program Council.

Eight Honors Program Council members also serve as Faculty Scholars. PTK chapter advisors, most of whom are college faculty and staff members, and PTK alumni, or former members, were eligible to apply for the 22 remaining spots.

“The training that Faculty Scholars receive is a professional development experience like no other,” said Susan Edwards, PTK’s Associate Vice President of Honors Programming and Undergraduate Research. “Faculty Scholars come away with new skills and a completely new way to engage with and learn from a diverse group of individuals.”

The 2020 Faculty Scholars are (*indicates Honors Program Council):

Dr. Rosie Banks, Harold Washington College, Illinois*
Michelle Coach, Asnuntuck Community College, Connecticut
Barbara Ebert, Alumna, Virginia
Dr. Kathleen Fowler, Surry Community College, North Carolina
Steve Fritts, Ozarks Technical Community College, Missouri*
Jennifer Grindstaff, John Wood Community College, Illinois
Dr. Patty Hall, Cañada College, California*
Kendra Haney, Porterville College, California
Anna Lauren Heavener, Alumna, Mississippi
Mathew Herrman, University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton, Arkansas
Alicia Hodge, Brazosport College, Texas
Dr. Mary James, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Florida
Dr. Kari Kahler, Northwestern Michigan Community College, Michigan
Rahul Kane, Century College, Minnesota*
Dr. Kelly Kennedy-Everett, Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus, Florida
Dr. Kismet Loftin Bell, Forsyth Tech Community College, North Carolina
Dr. Robin Lowe, Itawamba Community College, Mississippi
Myriam Moody, Southwestern College, California
Dr. Inhye Peterson, Rio Salado College, Arizona
Martha Petry, Jackson College, Michigan
Jackie Pierce, Lake-Sumter State College, Florida
Cassandra Powell, Richard J. Daley College, Illinois*
Lara Roemer, Carl Sandburg College, Illinois*
Dr. Ryan Ruckel, Pearl River Community College, Mississippi
Dr. Terri Ruckel, Pearl River Community College, Mississippi*
Dr. Mitch Stimers, Cloud County Community College, Kansas*
Diego Tibaquira, Miami Dade College, Padrón Campus, Florida
Dr. Kevin Windham, Shelton State Community College, Alabama
Amy Winters, Western Nebraska Community College, Nebraska
Denise Woolsey, Yavapai College, Arizona

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa