Posted on February 5th in News

13 College Presidents to Receive Shirley B. Gordon Award

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) will recognize 13 college presidents with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2020, the Society’s annual convention, April 2-4 in the Greater Dallas Area in Texas.

These awards are given to college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their colleges. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their career.

The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa’s most prestigious award for community college presidents and is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington. The 2020 recipients are:

Dr. Cristal Albrecht
Alvin Community College

Dr. Jo Alice Blondin
Clark State Community College

Dr. Warren Brown
North Seattle College

Dr. Mary Graham
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Dr. Donald Green
Georgia Highlands College

Dr. James Haffey
Holmes Community College

Dr. Thomas LoBasso
Daytona State College

Dr. Sean Madison
Tarrant County College

Dr. Michael McDonough
Raritan Valley Community College
New Jersey

Dr. James Dale (J.D.) Rottweiler
Cochise College

Dr. Walt Tobin
Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
South Carolina

Ms. Jennie Vaughan
Ivy Tech Community College

Dr. Gregory Williams
Odessa College

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa