Posted on May 5th in News

Three Students Receive PTK’s Orlowski Award

Three Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) members have received the Orlowski Award for International Officer candidates, which comes with a $1,500 scholarship and a framed medallion plaque for each.

The winners are

• Chelsea Davis-Hearn, Laramie County Community College, Wyoming
• Cindy Dies Owen, Northland Pioneer College, Arizona
• Leeanna Rutigliano, Suffolk County Community College, New York

Each year, PTK members run for one of five International Officer positions within the Society. This is the highest position of leadership available for students. Thirty-eight students campaigned for office this year, and winners were announced during PTK Catalyst, PTK’s annual convention, held virtually April 16-17.

The Orlowski Award is determined by the International Officer candidates and awarded to the candidate who best embodies the spirit of PTK and exemplifies the Society’s Hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship. This is the first time three candidates have received the award.

“The Orlowski Award is one of those special honors that you can’t campaign or compete for — it’s all about who you are as a person,” said Dr. Blake Ellis, PTK’s Vice President of Student Engagement. “The fact that we have three recipients this year speaks to the high quality of student leaders in Phi Theta Kappa. All of our candidates faced special challenges this year as they campaigned solely online for a virtual event. The selection of these candidates speaks to their strength of character, and we are proud of each one of them.”

The Orlowski Award honors the memory of Steve Orlowski, a student from Wilbur Wright Community College in Illinois who served as a then-National Officer in 1986-87. Steve passed away from leukemia during his term of office.

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa