Posted on May 21st in News

48 Students Named 2021 New Century Workforce Scholars

Forty-eight college students have been named 2021 New Century Workforce Pathway Scholars and will each receive a $1,250 scholarship.

This scholarship is the first of its kind to support students at associate degree-granting institutions on a national scale as they plan to enter the workforce upon the completion of a degree or certificate. The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

New Century Workforce Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom. Thousands of students were nominated from more than 1,200 college campuses across the country. Only one New Century Workforce Scholar was selected from each state.

“We congratulate these students for receiving this prestigious scholarship, and we are honored to partner with The Coca-Cola Foundation to recognize their outstanding achievements,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Scholarship programs like this are integral for creating opportunities for students to succeed as they prepare to enter the workforce and for putting college completion within reach.”

The 2021 New Century Workforce Scholars are:

Jaron Hood, Northwest Shoals Community College, Alabama
Kaitlyn Rushing, Rio Salado College, Arizona
Joseph South, University of Arkansas Community College at Morrilton, Arkansas
Kristen Palacios, Mt. San Antonio College, California
Adele Gemmell, Medicine Hat College, Canada
Zoe McNaught, Front Range Community College, Colorado
Sally DeJesus, Asnuntuck Community College, Connecticut
Agnes Langha-Ngwa, Delaware Technical Community College, Delaware
Elias Marcet, Miami Dade College, Florida
Helder Quintas, Gwinnett Technical College, Georgia
Elizabeth AhQuin, Windward Community College, Hawaii
Joshua Oquendo, College of Western Idaho, Idaho
Devon Simpson, Spoon River College, Illinois
Taylor Zakrzewski, Ivy Tech Community College, Indiana
Skylyr Wohlers, Iowa Central Community College, Iowa
Kaitlyn Dutton, Fort Scott Community College, Kansas
Gregory Pratt, Madisonville Community College, Kentucky
Christian Borne, Delgado Community College, Louisiana
Kristin Wallaker, Kennebec Valley Community College, Maine
Rachel Mickle, Allegany College of Maryland, Maryland
Vincent Strzelecki, Quinsigamond Community College, Massachusetts
Melanie LeQuia, Grand Rapids Community College, Michigan
Tatiana Paolini Belotto, Dakota County Technical College, Minnesota
Shariel Franklin, Hinds Community College, Mississippi
Shannon McKaig Buffington, Ozarks Technical Community College, Missouri
Helen Abramchuk, Flathead Valley Community College, Montana
Adam Ouderkirk, Western Nebraska Community College, Nebraska
Tomas Luna Jr., College of Southern Nevada, Nevada
Sarah DeWitt, Great Bay Community College, New Hampshire
Elisa Masiero, Brookdale Community College, New Jersey
Brianna Aldridge, Central New Mexico Community College, New Mexico
Jacob Romeo, Mohawk Valley Community College, New York
John Whitley, Central Piedmont Community College, North Carolina
Nicholas Vercaigne, Dakota College at Bottineau, North Dakota
Brett Tipton, Stark State College, Ohio
Alison Tock, Redlands Community College, Oklahoma
Hannah Berger, Treasure Valley Community College, Oregon
Josephine Milanzi, Northampton Community College, Pennsylvania
Kimberly Sturdevant, Community College of Rhode Island, Rhode Island
Nadia Siekert, Trident Technical College, South Carolina
Rebekah Mirjana Randall, Motlow State Community College, Tennessee
Mallery Warden, Amarillo College, Texas
Joaquin Dorantes, Salt Lake Community College, Utah
Elana Dao, New River Community College, Virginia
Amy Redfern, Bellingham Technical College, Washington
Michael McClintock, Blue Ridge Community & Technical College, West Virginia
Brittany Campbell, Madison Area Technical College, Wisconsin
Clarinda Nicholson Torres, Northwest College, Wyoming

About The Coca-Cola Foundation

The Coca-Cola Foundation is the global philanthropic arm of The Coca-Cola Company. Since its inception in 1984, the Foundation has awarded more than $1 billion in grants to support sustainable community initiatives around the world. Learn more about The Coca-Cola Foundation.

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa