Posted on March 6th in Press Room

Five College Presidents to Receive Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) will recognize five retiring college presidents and chancellors with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award during PTK Catalyst 2023, the Society’s annual convention in Columbus, Ohio, April 20-22.

These awards are given to retiring college presidents who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus. Recipients are nominated by the students on their campus.

“These college leaders have made student success a priority throughout their career,” says Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them, both inside and outside the classroom.”

The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida. The 2023 recipients are:

Dr. Kevin Boys
Southern State Community College
Jennie Vaughan
Ivy Tech Community College
Michael Elbe
John Wood Community College
Dr. Thomas Ramage
Parkland College
Dr. Linda Lujan
Lamar Community College

About Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa