Posted on October 5th in Press Room

95 Chapters to Receive Fall 2023 Honors in Action Grants

Honors in Action combines academic research, problem solving, and action-oriented service to address real-world challenges in our communities. Developed to support student engagement in Honors in Action programming, the Phi Theta Kappa Honors in Action Grant helps bridge the financial gap between ideas and action.

Honors in Action grants offer chapters a chance to request up to $1,000 to enhance their HIA projects.

This fall, thanks to the generous donation of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, 95 chapters have been selected to receive HIA grants.

The Fall 2023 HIA Grant recipients are:  

Alabama Region

Alpha Epsilon Nu – Bishop State Community College

Sigma Lambda – Calhoun Community College

Phi Upsilon – Coastal Alabama Community College, Monroeville Campus

Pi Pi – Jefferson State Community College, Birmingham Camps

Alpha Zeta Iota – Northwest-Shoals Community College

Iota Iota – Southern Union State Community College

Omega Beta – Wallace Community College, Dothan Wallace Campus

Alpha Eta Tau – Wallace Community College, Selma Campus

Arizona Region

Alpha Beta Zeta – Cochise College, Douglas Campus

Alpha Theta Omicron – Rio Salado College

Beta Gamma Pi – Yavapai College

Carolinas Region

Alpha Omicron Delta – Alamance Community College

Alpha Epsilon Psi – Denmark Technical College

Alpha Mu Rho – Forsyth Tech Community College

Alpha Nu Sigma – Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Alpha Eta Kappa – Midlands Tech

Beta Nu Upsilon – Pitt Community College

Colorado Region

Sigma Phi – Arapahoe Community College

Alpha Mu Mu – Community College of Denver

Florida Region

Mu Epsilon – Miami Dade College, North Campus

Alpha Delta Iota – Palm Beach State College, Boca Raton Campus

Alpha Zeta Epsilon – Pasco-Hernando State College, East Campus

Rho Tau – Tallahassee Community College

Alpha Phi Zeta – Valencia College, Osceola Campus

Chi Epsilon – Valencia College, West Campus

Georgia Region

Beta Beta Tau – Atlanta Metropolitan State College

Alpha Chi Delta – Augusta Technical College

Alpha Rho Omega – South Georgia State College, Waycross Campus

Heartland Region

Beta Rho Lambda – Fort Scott Community College, Miami County Campus

Tau Chi – Northeast Community College, Norfolk Campus

Alpha Psi Tau – Ozarks Technical Community College

Lambda Pi – Western Nebraska Community College, Scottsbluff Campus

Illinois Region

Rho Kappa – Elgin Community College

Alpha Omega Xi – Heartland Community College

Upsilon Pi – John A. Logan College

Lambda Rho – Kennedy-King College, Chicago Campus

Lambda Iota – Olive-Harvey College

Indiana Region

Beta Zeta Kappa – Ivy Tech Community College, Fort Wayne Campus (Warsaw)

Iowa Region

Beta Epsilon Eta – Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny Campus

Beta Zeta Mu – Western Iowa Tech Community College

Kentucky Region

Alpha Phi Kappa – Bluegrass Community & Technical College

Alpha Lambda Delta – Elizabethtown Community & Technical College

Omicron Zeta – Somerset Community College

Michigan Region

Alpha Delta Omega – Glen Oaks Community College

Alpha Omicron Kappa – Oakland Community College, Highland Lakes Campus

Middle States Region

Alpha Epsilon Phi – Bergen Community College

Alpha Pi Theta – Brookdale Community College

Chi Theta – Community College of Baltimore County, Essex Campus

Alpha Tau Epsilon – Delaware County Community College, Media-Marple Campus

Alpha Beta Kappa – Delaware Tech Community College, Dover-Terry Campus

Beta Alpha Phi – Hudson County Community College

Alpha Eta Chi – Passaic County Community College

Minn-Kota Region

Alpha Alpha Gamma – Century College

Alpha Kappa Alpha – Normandale Community College

Beta Eta Chi – Ridgewater College

Zeta Eta – Riverland Community College

Omicron – Rochester Technical & Community College

Mississippi-Louisiana Region

Alpha Beta Xi – Hinds Community College, Utica

Rho Sigma – Jones College

Gamma Nu – Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College, Perkinston Campus

Alpha Gamma Chi – Northwest Mississippi Community College, DeSoto Center

Theta Sigma – Northwest Mississippi Community College, Senatobia Campus

Beta Tau Gamma – Pearl River Community College, Forrest County Center

Iota Mu – Pear River Community College, Poplarville Campus

Beta Beta Nu – Southern University at Shreveport

Nevada-California Region

Beta Theta Lambda – Merritt College

Alpha Chi Lambda – MiraCosta College

Alpha Chi Mu – Porterville College

Beta Kappa Delta – Santa Monica College

Beta Mu Gamma – Solano Community College

New England Region

Alpha Zeta Theta – Quinsigamond Community College

New Mexico Region

Alpha Omega Tau – New Mexico State University, Doña Ana Campus

New York Region

Lambda Nu – Bronx Community College

Beta Phi Gamma – Guttman Community College

Alpha Xi Sigma – Hudson Valley Community College

Alpha Zeta Nu – Suffolk County Community College, Ammerman Campus

Ohio Region

Beta Upsilon Beta – Cuyahoga Community College, Westshore Campus

Oklahoma-Arkansas Region

Beta Omega Alpha – ASU, Beebe Campus

Rocky Mountain-Cascade Region

Alpha Xi Zeta – Clackamas Community College

Alpha Sigma Xi – Columbia Gorge Community College

Tennessee Region

Upsilon Delta – Southwest Tennessee Community College

Texas Region 

Alpha Gamma Pi – Austin Community College

Alpha Mu Tau – Collin College

Rho Lambda – Coastal Bend Community College

Sigma Delta – College of the Mainland

Alpha Zeta Eta – Dallas College, North Lake

Alpha Alpha Xi – Dallas College, Richland

Gamma Omicron – Kilgore College

Beta Lambda Mu – Lone Star College-CyFair

Beta Lambda Gamma – Southwest Texas Junior College, Eagle Pass Campus

Psi Kappa – St. Philip’s College, San Antonio Campus

Phi Tau – Tarrant County College, Northeast Campus

Rho Chi – Tarrant County College, South Campus

Lambda Theta – Temple College

Alpha Omicron – Tyler Junior College

Congratulations to all the Fall 2023 HIA Grant recipients! 

Let's Connect

Stay inspired and informed by subscribing to our blog digest.

betterhelp amsa